Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

PCB Racer

by ezolotko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use arrow keys to race your Printed Circuit Board bot to finish. Do not run away from the tracks!

Made with Gameplay3D, XCode/Visual Studio, Blender, Tiled, Photoshop, Audacity and my homemade microcontroller synth.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#505Mood3.04
#535Fun3.04
#608Innovation2.98
#632Overall3.11
#700Graphics2.94
#714Humor2.22
#748Audio2.39
#1064Theme2.45

Comments

Eagle_Scout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:46am

Great job. That music tho. Its stuck in my head!!!!

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42am

Good game, pretty challenging, but the sounds were a bit annoying. but seriously a good game

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

I want to live here. Camera controls are a little wonky, but I really like the whole package. Great job.

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36am

Cool game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44am

On windows "The program can't start because MSVCP120.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54am

uh-oh: <Error>
<Code>BlobNotFound</Code>
<Message>
The specified blob does not exist. RequestId:aa9e87ee-d8c2-463f-bd95-cc5bd1190c69 Time:2014-04-28T11:53:58.5892276Z
</Message>
</Error>

ezolotko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

@Jonathan Whiting - reuploaded the archive, now it has the libraries

@GiveMeAllYourCats - was reuploading :)

Sorry guys.

chewbye says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:57am

Game crashes when going ahead at begining of the game

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Thanks for fixing!

I kind of adore the ultra harsh music, was giggling like crazy playing this. The off the track punishment was both too vague and too extreme, a substantial speed punishment for veering off would be far more enjoyable.

Karmalis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

I liked the instant fail on going off track. It made me more tense and try harder to be honest. Really enjoyed the game, loving the art style, though as others mentioned, music can get to your brain. Nice work.

Serk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Simple and fun mechanics, that's great!

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Personally for me I like games with more art than just colors. But the style is great and I love how fun it gets and the frustration I get when I run off the track (which is good) because it keeps me playing

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Really stylistic visuals, great concept. Loved all the models for the capacitors and ICs.

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Thanks now I have that music stuck in my head for the whole day

Good game though, I like the fact its 3D

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:19pm

That was cool, when I went really fast reminded me of Tron.

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

haha, your homemade synth almost destroyed my home! Those are some harsh sounds.

I found the graphics with the looming computer parts really enhanced the game.

It got pretty hard pretty fast for me.

Good game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I like this. Addictive and fun. The music is annoying, though adds to the gameplay, in a strange way.

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Fun game, but really painful music!
(Would have been x10 better if there was a more visual indicator of where you could/couldn't go!)

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Interesting concept...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Well, that was fast. Ending screen is so rapid. I have a strange feeling. Reminds me of Tron

Aomeas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

The sounds are pretty annoying but the game itself is rather good.
What's the link with the theme ?

jellymann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Challenging! I want more levels!

Would be awesome if there was a leaderboard of fastest times. I'd suggest a quick-restart button like in Trackmania, but then again running away from the track works the same :P

ezolotko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35pm

@jellymann more levels - this is what I am going to do soon

lajos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:08am

Awesome looking game! Super hard and fun. But the music.. hmmm

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:44am

Loved racing this brutal circuit while catchy song crumpled itself up in my ear.

DrStahlbart says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:04pm

PCB-action, woot! This is one of the "must played" games, because of the game style.

malmazuke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:54am

intense. i like it

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:38pm

The idea for the game is good and the visuals of being beneath the surface of some technological gadget was pretty cool. I did have some mechanical troubles though.

The timer should have started after the player pressed a key, not immediately after the level loads. Some of the collisions were also far too unpredictable, like on the second level right at the start there is a hard right turn around some component but the hit box spans halfway into the track.

Very fitting music though, and it didn't get annoying :)

ezolotko says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:25am

Hi @Cake&Code, thanks for the response. Actually now I am working on the next version of this game (and on the iOS port), where the issues you mentioned are already fixed. The main features of the new version will be rival AI cars and more levels. Also, we will try to do something with the music :)

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:16am

That sounds awesome! Glad to hear you're still working on it and good luck with the porting :D

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Lo-fi and crunchy racing game. Nice concept of a micro-scale racer. Audio and visuals are definitely in your face! Nice distraction for a few minutes, could do with more longevity.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]