Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Eggventure of Mad Mr Gregg!

by mollymus - Jam Entry

For best experience, please download the jar, the sound does not work perfect in web! For second best, use chrome with the web version.

Beneath the surface of our hero, anger thrives. Someone stole all the golden eggs! Help him get them back, and clense him of anger!

Complete all the levels in this platformer, made from scratch with the awesome framework libgdx.

Controls:
Run with A and D. Jump with W. Swap between two forms/worlds with space, and reset a level with R. Utilize your different abilities in these worlds as efficiently as possible to complete each level.

You jump higher while in happy/light world, but run faster while in angry/dark world. You will also interact differently with the environment, depending on which mode you are currently in.
While angry, orange blocks will scatter upon horizontal impact and reapers will end you.
While happy, red blocks will trap you and bring you with them into the abyss.
Green blocks will fall when touched.
Blue blocks are solid, and will not break. Ever.


Note: We suggest trying 2handed play. Left hand on W,A,D and right hand on space!
Note2: The music does not transition between the two modes when using the web version. For proper sound-experience, please use the jar!:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#258Overall(Jam)3.38
#283Innovation(Jam)3.21
#291Graphics(Jam)3.58
#313Fun(Jam)3.09
#344Mood(Jam)3.10
#365Audio(Jam)3.09
#416Theme(Jam)3.06
#444Humor(Jam)2.39

Comments

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Nice music, but the controls are somewhat less responsive than I'd like. Maybe the scale of the character is just too "snug" for the scale of the levels, fits just too tightly to the space.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Pretty good, but a little hard I think

gingerbeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I enjoyed it a lot, I found it quite hard having the space bar to change modes and "w" for jump. For me it would have been much easier with "e" to switch worlds and space to jump :)

jomacel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Its a good idea and fun to play. It took me a while to learn all the differences of colors

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Enjoyed its music and its graphics, although I can think of a game with similar mechanics. However, I'd rather like the camera moving to show more left-side when moving left.
Pretty nice implementation of its mechanics and nice level design. It's a different interpretation of the theme, so I'll upvote on theme.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Agreeing with some previous statements about the controls: space to jump and E to switch would be good. Other than that, this is really good!

Tomski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Liked the transition between characters

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Really liked the game. The speed up was really slow, but it was still really fun to play! I was like, one more try. Ok, one more. Ok, I really should move on. WHY DID I PRESS SPACE AGAIN?

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Agree with the control issues. Nice visual style!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30pm

this was very enjoyable. reminds me of giana sisters twisted dreams. good job.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Love the art. The art looks really good and fits the mood. The controls are sluggish; the character doesn't accelerate fast enough.

foolmoron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Controls weren't the best, but I loved the platforming tricks you could do by skillfully switching between light/dark. That kept me playing all the way to the end.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:10am

Great interpretation of the theme, plus, I liked the way you had to change between the two forms to complete. Some parts were really difficult though, requiring really fast swapping, but still, it was nice to play it. Good job!

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26am

The graphics are gorgeous, the audio is pretty good. The mechanic is one of my favorite in games, although I tend to prefer it in slower paced games. This is an interesting sort of race to the finish type game with a complicated path to memorize - which is cool, but it's very hard.

The entire jumping mechanic is just strange too, you stop on a dime in mid air but have acceleration? I don't really understand it. Adds to the challenge, but not in a good way IMO. And I hate to harp on controls, but space is jump in my head and I just had a tough time unlearning that. Would have much preferred something like E for swap worlds and space for jump.

Overall, pretty good entry. It's fun, feels fairly polished, looks great, has a really good mood and feel to it, sounds good. Lots of gameplay if you like this genre. Good entry, great work!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Great graphics, you should work a little more on the gameplay but it's a good game!

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Hard, but good. Well done

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I found the puzzles rather challenging, nice!

DarknessFades says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Took some time but I;ve finally beat it, hard but beatable - just how I like it

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:36am

The music is a bit happy for a devil like person. Nice game.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:05pm

controls need a bit of tweaking I think to make it less frustrating, but I do like the game element of switching evil/normal

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:19am

It's too slow, but this gives it special feeling. I also like the music and it's transition during the world changes. But I can't see the theme connection here.

ccglp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Art, music and the dual gameplay makes this game rock solid I enjoy it!

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Cool concept, nice graphics and theme interpretation. Jumping could be a little frustrating though.

Also the web version said my browser (chrome) doesn't support webgl after it gets past the LibGDX loading screen, which is a damn lie... not sure what happened with that since my game is using LibGDX also and the web version runs fine.

Chronoberry says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Sweet art! It's a bit hard to tell which blocks are usable when in devil mode. Nice interpretation of the theme.

Shigor says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:02am

Control issues, as stated by previous guys, are dragging it a bit down, otherwise nice inventive platformer.

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:45am

Cool jump & run. Feels responsive and looks and sounds good. The choice of keys to control the character on the other hand is not so good in my opinion. I kept pressing space to jump. That was a bit frustrating. But that is a minor complaint.

D2FXRayG says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Platforming wasn't too tight but I like how the music changes as the switch wolrds.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:24pm

This is an interesting concept, but the platforming is a little bit too clunky and a little bit too difficult, which makes the game more frustrating than fun. With just a little bit of polishing though, this could be a really fun game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]