Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Water Hazard

by Hemuuuli - Jam Entry

Water Hazard is inspired from old school survival horror games from 90's like Resident Evil, Alone in the Dark and Dino Crisis.

90's Features:
- Tank controls
- Static cameras
- Low res/color textures with perspective errors
- No texture filtering
- Low poly models with vertex rounding errors

Our unique features:
- Oculus Rift support
- You can rotate angles manually

===============================================

Controls:
WASD - Move
E - Use / Shoot
SPACE - Ready gun
SHIFT - Run
MOUSE - Rotate view

Additional Controls:
TAB - Toggle Oculus Rift
XBOX Controller

Enjoy pixels, texture warping and clunky controls!

===============================================

Credits:
Samuli Jaaskelainen @Zhamul (Design, Code, Art, Voice)
Janne Remes @JanneRemes (Code)
Petri Liuska @schabbs_ (Shaders)
Sofi Kurtti (Art)
Tuire Kauppinen (Art)
Aku Mahonen (Voice)

Additional Credits for audio:
Neverdamage
CMIUC100
Copyright (c) 2012 Varazuvi tm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#8Mood(Jam)4.39
#12Overall(Jam)4.21
#28Audio(Jam)4.11
#36Graphics(Jam)4.46
#69Fun(Jam)3.64
#83Humor(Jam)3.55
#150Innovation(Jam)3.51
#373Theme(Jam)3.15

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Oh man, I love everything about this!

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Works on Linux (arch linux 54 bit)!

Amazing. You guys have really recreated the beauty of a PS1 survival horror.

So much atmosphere. I love the awkward camera angles. Next time you can add door opening animations (jk).

Plus voice acting.

A really good entry, highly polished and stylized.

Ps. THE LOCK IS BUSTJED.

ponk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

AAaAaAAwwWWeeSSooOommmMEee....!!!

Very very very nice and brilliant

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

GREAT game man!!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:27am

This game is amazing. The graphics and gameplay, feel so frustratingly good. A true tribute.

burgerdare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01am

"De lock is busted. I cannot open it."

Man, I love this game. So worth waiting the extra 24 hours to play it as a jam submission.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

Great atmosphere, neat game and interesting use of theme. :)

shubshub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10am

Couldnt get it running properly sorry

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

Somehow even clunkier then the classic tank controls, like how he leans to his left if you sprint while holding down W. Regardless you captured the campiness of games like Resident Evil quit well. I shall patiently await the disc 2 fix.

~AlucardX60

rosa89n20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24am

amazing game! it feel really really good, reminds me a lot of old game

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:01am

Thanks for the kind words!
Looks like the hard work was worth it.

@eldog: We wanted to do door transition animations but we had to scrap them because artists didn't have enought time to make them. :/

And thanks for the Linux verification.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17am

This is five start material right here. Not only does it press all the right nostalgia buttons, its actually a very polished game in its own respect. This is possibly the most faithful recreation of PS1-era 3D effects I've seen outside the realm of emulation.

Simply fantastic, massive kudos to the team. Viis kautta viis.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21am

That voice... it really put a smile on my face! Really well done!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22am

Man o Man, THIS game rules. Now I want to re-play Grim Fandango

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27am

Full graph/humor/audio!
I always hate that kind of games but gosh it was fun to find a new one :D

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34am

ammmmazing!

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37am

Great atmosphere and PS1 graphics. Really well-done.

flatgub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45am

OH MY GOD!
This game may possibly my favourite game in the entire jam...
So much nostalgia. The tank controls and the texture warping, so authentic! The mood was brilliant! I'm not sure if it was on purpose but i ran into quite a few situations where no matter where i walked the camera would not move on its own... Also i got stuck after a certain point where my gun just clicked and i couldn't figure out how to shoot again, but i still managed to have a great time!
Dem Bustjed locks tho...

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Wow, it looks so 90's, awesome!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Oh man, this is so cool. You set off my PS1 nostalgia something fierce with this. The dodgy models and warped textures and tank controls are perfect! Nice atmosphere as well.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Awesome game!

This is what happens when you buy discounted locks from some shady warehouse guy.

Apparently I have the ability to bring people back from the dead! I couldn't seem to grab the key from the captain the first time, and accidentally left, but I didn't seem to be able to go back through the gate, so I went all the way back around, and he gave me his speech again. Not a huge issue, though.

@flatgub I think you have limited ammo. I think I ran out once, and there are ammo pickups a couple places.

Anyways, great entry!

Also, the lock is busted...


1/5 until disk 2 fix :P

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Sweeeet mother of retro! This was one amazing game! :D Good work.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35pm

I think this could use clearer/better voice acting, a more cooperative camera, and a less awkward control scheme. Making turns and shooting enemies was a pain. But I love the cinematic camera angles, general tone, and Playstation-type graphics. Kept me captivated.

quill18 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Honestly one of the best games of the jam for many, many reasons.

You guys should be really proud.

(I was surprised by all the nudity in the scene after the Captain's quarters though.)

rubna says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:48pm

ohmygod yesyesyesyes this is amazing! I love how hard it is to control xD This made me smile all the way through! But eventhough it's a parody, it's still a very well-made one! Lots of atmosphere, mood, and I really felt kinda scared of the monsters sometimes because the game is so hard to control!
Really great job :O Good luck in the competition!

D2FXRayG says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Wow! I like it! You totally got that PS1 feel down and for that I applaud you!

Janne Remes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Speed run challenge! My time was 3:20!

koozek says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Man, this is awesome! I've always wanted to recreate that PSX-style and you totally nailed it :)

Phyllostachys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Ah, reminds me of playing Resident Evil, FF8, and everything of the sort. Goal accomplished.

FrozenCow says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:01am

Saved this for later to continue playing (or rather restarting). This is an absolutely awesome game. The big rat was pretty cool already, so I'd like to see the ending... even if the controls make me crazy :P.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Wow, these memories... Seems like my second disc is scratched, can you send me new one? :D I really enjoyed this, good job!

evilseanbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I'm a big fan of games from the period, and I think you did a great job here.

Cut scene/voice over segments seem to take me out of the experience somewhat. Maybe if you had some kind of special camera work during those segments or gave the player more control over them?

If you did a similar homage to Silent Hill I would be super pumped.

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Oh god D: I was just playing this constantly muttering 'this is awesome' the entire time - this is exactly the kind of thing I want to make with Unity (or whatever I can make in) but I've never actually seen anyone do a RE-style game in it before, and then to see it in a jam? GAH Amazing. My own weird love for the genre aside, the game is incredibly well done and atmospheric, great job :D

greg-anims says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:27pm

THE
LOCK
IS
BROKEN
I
CANNOT
OPEN
IT.

10/10

greg-anims says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Im looking forward to the extra content you guys are making - im not sure how else to contact you but im making a PS1 style platformer and would be really interested to use your pixel-error shader (is it a shader or does it round the mesh verticies?), please email me at: greganims1@gmail [dot com] if thats alright with you. Thankyou

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]