Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Packet of Pumpkin Seeds

by AlexFili - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This year after reading through my university workbooks I decided to break from my usual tradition of developing games in HTML5 and instead create a text adventure.

While I didn't grow up with many text adventures I am aware of the huge legacy they have left behind, particularly the great text adventures such as Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and Red Dwarf amongst others.

In this game your goal is to escape to the surface of the planet after having spent a life deep within the planet. There are some funny happenings and strange moments along with a good amount of choices for multiple playthroughs.

I do not anticipate many bugs with the game itself but if there are any browser issues or errors please let me know. This should work on any device that can support HTML which includes PCs, smartphones, tablets and other devices.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#207Humor3.10
#446Mood3.12
#659Theme3.15
#798Overall2.93
#873Fun2.65
#899Innovation2.60
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Loved it ! Damn chasm ...

Snild says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Too... much... text... I just skimmed most of it, and didn't get more than a few screens in.

I guess text adventures just aren't for me. :)

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:25am

A bit short maybe.
But I too do short games.
The mood was very good...

DonovanWu says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:28am

I like the feature of clicking the options instead of typing like an old-school text adventure.

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:43pm

A bit on the short side, but well-written. Would've liked to see another character or two in there, or perhaps getting to see more signs and get more history of the main character and the people beneath the surface.

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Too bad there was no wind outside, I bet it would've felt good on my face. Didn't grow up with text adventures, but this was an enjoyable experience nonetheless! Really moody, but I would've also liked some human interaction.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

pedrosanta says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Nice adventure, nice tribute. :) Pumpkins!

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Good storytelling. Experience feels pretty smooth.

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Played three times before I escaped. Good times.

mark.goetz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Very nice little adventure! I did like the touches of humor, and I enjoyed it despite its short length. A bit more exploration and possibilities for failure would've improved it (although I'm glad there are no unwinnable states!), but overall great job!

elefantopia says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:17am

Wow, really compelling writing. I restarted a few times to check out the other choices in the story. Great job.

Crowbeak says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:16am

I felt like a lot of the links led to passages whose contents didn't logically follow -- I go up an elevator and then it tells me I'm coming up the last few steps? >_>

pichifino says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Great job

607 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Was fun :) I think I've done just about everything possible, maybe I missed a few secret things. Well-written :)

loxo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Great atmosphere and nice story, I would like to read more.

May 12, 2014 @ 8:03pm

nicely written story. simple but effective. good job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]