Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

24100

by lekochen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is inspired by a social movement recently in Taiwan.
I only got a few hours to make this, but I guess that's okay.

Press SPACE to continue, ARROW KEYS to move.

Hint: It won't last long.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#103Mood3.73
#253Audio3.26
#324Theme3.53
#450Innovation3.21
#681Overall3.06
#777Graphics2.82
#812Humor2.09
#1184Fun2.06

Comments

Woftles says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47am

Lovely story, especially given the short time period.

Redream says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13am

I cried. Nice story.

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Cool concept. Not that much gameplay, but the story was intriguing.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:41am

I liked this. Good job!

aeveis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

the speeding up was cool, and nice presentation, though not much of a game.

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43am

I like the story and lesson! No "gameplay", though.

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

Cool story. I feel like it could be a really great intro to a larger game of some sort.

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50am

Same as microapple

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02am

good take on the theme, and great story. I thought the lack of gameplay would make it boring, but I sat through the whole thing interested up to the end. Well done :)

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13am

Genuinely made me laugh. I like it! :D

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

Great storytelling here. I love the little details like how you shrink a bit and get slower when you are of old age.

Amazing what you can express with just a set of rectangles

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Quite liked that. Thanks for making :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Not a lot of player agency, but strangely I liked that.

d_0o_d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Very elegant game, so smooth and cool music man.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Nice story. Finished it! :D

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:09am

Interesting look on things.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice story, really. For a moment I thought mutants were going to appear, hehe.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Interesting story, but more gameplay wouldn't hurt

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I like this entry, the theme use is strong and so is the poetry. Good job considered the amount of time.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Wow (no words can describe anything other than wow)

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Well, that was lovely...
Did the thing explode at the end?

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Very poignant! The limited color palette really provides a nice visual for what's going on, and your passage of time is very well done! Are you a participant in IGDShare?

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Very unique take on the theme. Wish there was a bit more player input, though I'm not sure if that would take away from the story or not.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Very very good use of simple themes and simple shapes but presented so well as to have a meaning more than "Hey, I'm a rectangle! Look at me dance!" - fantastic work.

omaha says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Very nice work.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Hm. It's touching.

BTW I forgot about theme while playing and when finished game and started to rank I found that game fits theme perfect.

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:50pm

A truly unique take on the theme, but half-life refers to the amount of time it will take half of something to decay away, not how long it will take it to decay for the first time. You could have had little chunks of the buried material falling off and changing color over time, with half still left at year 24100. Still, a very powerful message!

May 4, 2014 @ 9:48am

Nice little experience)

May 11, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Ohh, neat :)

PetorialC says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:09am

Interesting...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]