Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wolfy Blast

by Logan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wofly Blast!
You play as a wolf dude with a gun, and you shoot knight dudes. And maybe there are some secrets.

Shift to jump, Ctrl to shoot. But if you don't like that, you can press Ctrl+Y to change 'em.


...Oh, and if you don't understand the relevance of the theme, then you haven't peeked beneath the surface yet.

Made in Multimedia Fusion 2, sounds made in sfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#165Fun3.56
#217Graphics3.75
#340Overall3.41
#619Mood2.92
#651Audio2.59
#830Humor2.05
#1010Innovation2.43
#1201Theme2.00

Comments

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11am

This is really pretty! Love the aesthetic. I seem to have missed the relevance of the theme, though I didn't get too particularly far in my two runs. Audio is solid, though I had to dock a point for an audio glitch that occurs when you leave enemies behind you (I think that's what causes it, anyway). I saw some level design stuff that I thought was pretty neat, although I am unsure how one is supposed to solve one of the button puzzles. I ended up just waiting until an enemy wandered onto the button.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15am

Nice graphics and feel. Super punishing, though. It was really difficult to get up or down ledges or stairs when there were enemies camping the other side, since the weapon only shoots horizontally.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

I loved the graphics. Sounds where decent. I liked the pace, and the amount of puzzles were just right. Good job.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Forgot I was playing a 48 hour game. Good job!

tomvert says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Nice game and level design; good graphics, love the HUD.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Nice retro graphics and great gameplay!

Sink says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Graphics are really great! The collision was a little finicky for the enemies.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37am

I liked this a lot, the simple graphics are nice and the controls are smooth. It's pretty difficult, though, had trouble getting very far. :)

Bronaldplo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13am

Nice graphics! nice game :P

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:24pm

The color palette really appeals to me. The look of the game in general is really nice. Kudos!

FGM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Solid sidescrolling shooter. It can be relentless, since the flinch time is so small. Got stuck after the hammer part :\

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Really nice graphics and UI give a good feeling to this game. I think the hordes of enemies constantly spawning fore and aft was kind of unfair, though, and it also seemed pretty cheap that they could camp around on top of spike pits while I had to platform over them and try not to get jumped into. What little I played was fun, though, and I appreciated the target-shooting puzzle bit--that was new for me!

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:52am

Very impressive aesthetic! Looks great and conveys a great feeling, plays pretty well too! Well done!

voidqk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:57am

nice platformer... good controls, graphics, etc. I found it quite hard though...

gwa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:57pm

cool jump and run i like the hud!

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:38pm

I found the audio pretty grating, but the UI was really nice, and platform shooters like comfort food to me, so I had a good time.

Tuism says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:47am

Pretty well polished! Would fit well on an NES :D Some design issues but great for 48 hours :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]