Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Sur(e)face

by RikardKarlsen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A text based game. You're talking with a confident guy, but everything might not be perfect. Supposed to be kinda psychological-ish but it weren't so.

I'd say it's really hard to know what to do, unless you see in the source. I WAS going to have many more questions and alternate ways to tell them, but I started the game with 12 hours left so... At least I've learn something this weekend about game dev.

================================

Made with Java in Eclipse.

================================

I'm not sure if the mac and linux .sh files are working for everyone, and if you know what to do, it's just to edit the file.

JAVA ERRORS
If you get the following message trying to run the game:

'java' is not recognised as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

You need to do some stuff. See this google search, as there are a lot of other people out there WAY better at explaining than me:
https://www.google.com/search?q=%27java%27+is+not+recognised+as+an+internal+or+external+command%2C+operable+program+or+batch+file.

================================

http://rikardkarlsen.com/
https://twitter.com/PotatoAndTaco

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#324Humor2.82
#995Innovation2.46
#1049Mood2.38
#1149Theme2.22
#1172Graphics2.07
#1172Overall2.41
#1177Fun2.11

Comments

Rahazan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

The .bat file is incorrect (points to wrong .jar filename), the game however worked fine after changing that.

Very difficult, I could not figure out much without looking at the source. Some small tips that may help others forward: Ask questions in lowercase and use proper punctuation! (and even then I'd be surprised if anybody beat it without peeking at the source)

I love seeing textgames however!

RikardKarlsen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46am

@Rahazan Thanks for letting me know about the .bat, it's fixed now.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Couldn't get it to run. Opening the .jar file does nothing and opening the .bat file launches a very brief command prompt screen and then nothing. I'm running windows 8.1, if that helps.

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Haha I honestly don't know how anyone will be able to complete this without the source code. But reading through that was kind of funny anyway (as far as the things you needed to ask to continue). I guess John has some family matters to attend to ;)

RikardKarlsen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

@Snoother Try adding "pause" at the end of the .bat file. Run it and see what it says.

Tomski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41am

Pretty hard, and I cheated too, great stuff, love text games!

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:45pm

I managed to capture the message in the brief time it appeared: "'java' is not recognised as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file."

gene-z says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:41am

Hard Game , but good idea

RikardKarlsen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:49am

@Snooter Open the file in notepad and replace the word java with the path to where your java is installed (if you have it installed). f.ex.:

"C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java" -jar btsf.jar
pause

Gallefray says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Awesome, managed to beat the game :D

paps says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Hum I starting to think that I suck in text game. cool game though

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:00pm

I didn't know what to do but I like text game.

Cezel_ says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:54am

It was really nice, altough I had to read the source code to know what to do, most of my mistakes were because of bad spelling.

shasharala says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:13am

That was interesting. I have not played a game in a while that involved a parser. I recall some Sierra games having them. Of course, those were commercial productions, but they were fun. I miss them and this was a small call back to them.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Hmm I couldn't get it to run :/ I have java installed, but it said 'java' isn't a valid command

RikardKarlsen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:27pm

You can try what I said to Snooter about 7 comments up. If not, you can try to google it :)

fullmontis says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:28pm

I had to look at the source, I don't think i's possible to win otherwise. At first I thought it was a game where you had to guess a specific word he was thinking but that wasn't the case.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]