Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Diving Simulator 2015

by Phobos001 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simulation of diving.

Goal: Break the ice to get beneath the surface.

In my testing, the game may have issues with objects that have shader effects on them in Chrome, but this only happens to me AFAIK. Everything should work as intended!

To open the source, you will need Construct 2. It should open in Free Edition AFAIK. Enjoy seeing my awful code :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Humor4.24
#124Fun3.65
#308Overall3.44
#328Innovation3.40
#353Audio3.08
#474Mood3.07
#676Graphics2.97
#973Theme2.67
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

CMNatic says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:56am

This is awesome! well done!

lucienpro says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:56am

Nicely done but I don't see how it relates to the theme...

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:19am

Agreed, I don't see how it related to the theme. But It's different.... ..and I like it! The gameplay was nice :)

Hinds says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Doesn't relate to the theme much, but otherwise well done. Good stuff

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Haha, that's amazing... I like the control scheme... always a surprise. Nice splat and scored 29million on second attempt

pattb011 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:21pm

I found this hilarious! I laughed out loud when i splatted. I'm not great at it. But it's funny, quirky, original and has a nice simplistic and retro theme to it. Although it would be nice if it was more linked to the theme. I still love it though!

ninjabit says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Oof! The audio and mini game aspect is great!

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:12pm

I like IT!

bensimms says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:31pm

HAHAHA Brilliant! Fantastic graphics, crazy concept and good fun!

Zolkren says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Good game, man.

sfdnetwork says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I never got beneath the surface, but the game has a nice concept. Good use of sound effects as-well, really adds to the experience.

liqwidice says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Pretty fun actually :)

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:23am

I love this entry! Managed to break the ice with the help of a burger-clicking friend!

mihaivdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42am

Love it! Favourite submission so far. Absolutely Hilarious!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:17am

I'd say it fits with the theme quite well, being that the goal is to get beneath the surface of the ice.

This is hilarious, and quite fun!

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32am

Fun and a good game.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04pm

This little guy has a death wish I guess. I liked the presentation and humor of it. The first time I didn't mash the spacebar enough and just exploded. That amused me quite a bit. Anyway, nice job for the 12 hours you spent on it.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15am

Had to show my love for your freaky diving game! :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:46am

Great game. really fresh key pressing panic. and nicely polished graphics and animation!

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52am

that was really funny xD didn't expect this coming

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:10am

A thoroughly accurate simulation of diving, very nice!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15am

That was Hysterical! I loved it!

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:39am

lol wut

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:56am

I laughed from start to finish. :D

Diptoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15am

I had no idea what was going on and never broke the surface, but it was awesome xD
Frantic and hysterical.

tomvert says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:38am

Haha love the jury

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

hahaha! awesome!

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:48pm

The first time, I exploded on the trampuline, and it was already fun!

I then found myself in the air and... then it got REALLY fun. :D

Great job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Well polished, good sound effects, fun!

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:01am

LMAO this is the funniest game ive played 5 stars humor. nice graphical effects as well!

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:21am

LOL :)

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Haha nice game, I like that one a lot.

I couldn't break the ice yet, but i am still trying

May 1, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Not bad. It made me smile.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Another awesome C2 entry, this made me smile. Great fun!

MSaul says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:40pm

splash !

anbreizh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Very fun, but soooo hard. Is it supposed to be two a player game ?

May 1, 2014 @ 9:01pm

I'm seeing stars, Loads in the rating section :P

Jools64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Great game, very funny. I couldn't break through the ice though, much to my disappointment. I came close but not quite there. I'm gonna blame it on being on a rubbish laptop track pad and sitting in a bad position. I refuse to believe it's because I suck. ;)

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:51pm

HAMBURGERS? I slammed my comet-speed corpse into the frozen tundra far too many times to count. I have lost. You have defeated me. THERE BETTER BE A YEARLY INSTALLMENT AND DLC!!!!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:57am

Effectively conveys the sensation of your body exploding

Kerdelos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Cool game but it seems the sound are not synced.

May 2, 2014 @ 10:01pm

AWESOME. At first it sounded like the wizards dieing in Chaos and then I laughed out loud at my landing.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:17pm

I love the ridiculously epic dive. Surprisingly tricky game, my head can't get around pressing keys and clicking on the things at the same time, but its fun!

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Really funny game and I need a new keyboard.. thanks.. Love it!

Ditto says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:52am

WHAT THE HELL!? This is crazy! Awesome! Cool! Rad! AMAZING! Everything about this is fucking good! THANKS!

SK16Games says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Very creative game :)

Lacaranian says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:40am

A wonderful piece o' work. The best part about simulation games is where they differ from reality.

May 6, 2014 @ 5:09am

Well this is marvellous :D

jorgemoag says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:06pm

The gameplay is nice but the controls are very disappointment for me

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]