Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Warm Summer's Eve

by Mythalore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simplistic, exploratory JavaScript thing.
Made in four hours.
Sorry if things all went a bit MineCraft, I'm fairly tired.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#375Innovation3.33
#463Humor2.56
#641Theme3.17
#871Mood2.64
#1090Overall2.58
#1096Fun2.33
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I thought this was an interesting narrative idea. I liked the way the text position reflected the words. Having an extra option to click on in different places would have made it more of a game.

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Exactly what garygreen said. It's a cool idea, and a bit of interactivity or multiple paths would be great. You should explore that option : )

wicht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:25am

Agreed. Nice idea and innovative use of fonts & position. Would have been cool if there would have been more narration & choice.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:44am

Liked the idea, I think it being "a bit Minecraft" was a good thing as I found myself imagining what was going on through reading the descriptions.

I'd be interested to play an actual game presented that way, i.e. with some kind of controls, player choice and an underlying game loop but the action only being described in text instead of using graphics.

Come to think of it, that's probably an idea for a game jam in itself!

LIESard says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:48am

Agreed with what the others said. If implementing interactivity is too difficult then might I suggest random paths for each game?
You wouldn't even need to write out each story, but rather write out a beginning, middle and end (or even more subdivisions) and have them put together randomly
Great idea, I'm sure you can go far with this :D

Mythalore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Thanks for the comments, I'm working on an improved adventure game with much more interactivity. I'll add a link once it's finished, obviously as a post-compo version.

ccglp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:45pm

The idea is interesting, I liked the way the text move, this game can use more interaction and different paths, cool idea overall!

whalebot says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I almost felt like this was more of a free verse poem than anything, the way the words moved with what was happening and changed color.

loxo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:38am

I like the idea with the moving text to reflect the position of the player. But it would be nice to have some alternative routes to leave the preset path and truly explore the world.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]