Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Makeshift Mouse King

by zkenshin - Jam Entry

After escaping the animal testing laboratory, TestMouse27 rejoices in his freedom only for it to be cut short by his unexpected trip to the local sewer.

**Known Bugs**
- Crash when throwing a weapon too close to an enemy rarely still. Updated build just to fix this game breaking bug made it a lot less common.
- Some weird axe movement when thrown sometimes.

Controls:

Xbox Controller(Recommended) (Windows/Web)

Movement - Left Analog
Melee - X
Crossbow - Right Trigger
Pickup/Throw Items - B
Jump - A
Progress Story - A

Keyboard

Movement - WASD/Arrow Keys
Melee - Z/J
Crossbow - X/K
Pickup/Throw Items - C/L
Jump - Spacebar
Progress Story - Any Key

(Mac/Linux builds are untested as of now)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#160Humor(Jam)3.16
#380Graphics(Jam)3.36
#383Fun(Jam)2.98
#431Audio(Jam)2.92
#435Overall(Jam)3.11
#485Theme(Jam)2.93
#514Innovation(Jam)2.69
#566Mood(Jam)2.71

Comments

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:31am

Fun game! I found that killing things with jumping is easier than trying to melee them. Very cute story. I wish they had longer arms.

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

Trying to be unbiased... ...hehee, this was fun to play! Good job!

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31am

the visuals are pretty good! the gameplay is lacking a bit but otherwise it was fun to play! nice job :3

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

Great game! It did crash for me though when I threw an axe while really close to an enemy in the second area.

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Very retro. Reminded me of old arcade side scrolling beat 'em ups, especially with the 'continue' thing. Couldn't beat that rat king thing though! Wow!

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Nice take on the brawler, good vibe.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Good work with the story and the intro. The game is very fun too, but the controls are complicated to memorize. Nice entry!

Korwegian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Le-Lemmiwinks?

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Fun brawler! I couldn't figure a strategy to win fights tough, and seems that sometimes just being close to another mouse decreases my "cheese".

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Fun game, reminded me a Turtles in Time.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:20pm

The game's quite hard, but it's also well-put together. Nice job.

elefantopia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:33am

Impressive! Lots of fun playing it, cute mouse graphics and story.

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:29pm

It was a little buggy, the enemies would follow where you're stepping parallel to you so they couldn't get closer to you and you couldn't get them. Other than a few bug issues, good job!

MattV says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:20pm

I killed the first rat, then tried to run past the second and got stuck (we would both move at the exact same time and couldn't move up or down to get closer to each other)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Nice game! It was kind of hard meleeing the rats with the prison shanks, but then it got kind of easy once you figure out the timing. The graphics are great!

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:42am

fun one. nice job.

mortus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I like the overall feel and the idea, but the gameplay seems a little simple. The beginning was too easy for me, but the boss was fun, nice work! I also liked the retro feel of the game.

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Cool game. The fighting is harder than I expected. The graphical style is nice and the music gives the game a nice mood. The only minor complaint is, that the camera lacked behind a bit. I would have liked to see more in front of my rat. Still a good entry!

Moosefly says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Good graphics and nice audio. Needs a little polish here and there but it was enjoyable nonetheless. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]