Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ant World

by DanEEStar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's hard work to be an ant.

A rough game without sound and music, but a lot of hard work.

The game is programmed with CoffeeScript using the Phaser game engine.
The game works directly in the web browser, best on Chrome or Firefox.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#342Innovation3.38
#506Theme3.32
#691Fun2.87
#849Humor2.00
#971Overall2.74
#1142Mood2.16
#1159Graphics2.13

Comments

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

Nice AI! Graphics are a little crude, but overall enjoyable.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05am

Interesting gameplay mechanic, although I wish the ants moved a bit faster. Reminds me of Lemmings, in a way. I found it kinda fun figuring out how to navigate the ground until the level with eight apples... during which I came to the important life realization that I'm glad not to be an ant.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

I have a feeling that 8 apple level is a troll level :P The first thing that sticks out to me about this game is that it desperately, desperately needs a 8x speed button. Other than that, definitely getting a very good lemmings vibe. Has a lot of potential, wouldn't mind seeing a version with more time put in. Good work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

Simple and fun. Pace could have been a little quicker, such as the long black spells in between levels. Entombing the ants in dirt causes them to turn crazy and morph into butterflies. Dirt butterflies. Dead dirt butterflies. Whoa.

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32am

Loooved the Idea! Programming and Art could use some tweaking but brilliant concept

chase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32am

That was cool, I really like being able to dynamically manipulate the terrain. It was also fun figuring out the proper way to make the ants move to the fruit.

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:33am

Like others said the pace of the game is kinda slow and fast forwards button would be nice.

Otherwise really good use of the theme!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35am

I like the mechanics! Also, this game changed my mindset about ants ;)

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38am

Really good idea. Unnecessary slow in the 8 apple level haha. Put a speed button or something.

Dreii says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49am

Reminded me of simant, pretty cool concept if it was expanded and polished it could be really awesome! It actually gave me an idea for a totally different type of game haha!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:02am

Excellent idea and the gameplay feels very well implemented. You should definitely go on to polish up the graphics and add some audio.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

Cool game, but it could've been more than this I think. Cool stuff though :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:02pm

liked it, but my ants sometimes ran through the earth (when the incline was too steep for them) (using firefox 18.0.2)

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Nice game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Nice concept.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I don't even lie when I say that this was so simple and brilliant that it transform into pure genius.

These kind of gameplay is so good and easy to learn and addictive!

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

A nice little game! This would be a fun mobile game.

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

A bit rough, but the terrain deformation is done really well!

May 2, 2014 @ 12:02pm

I would have liked some sounds and better graphics, but the gameplay was really nice :)

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:28pm

A simple game with a well-executed idea. I liked it, but the last level was not 'hard work', just tedious once you got the first apple. Still had fun playing it, good job!

end3r says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Interesting idea for a game which is quite enjoyable and nice to play.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]