Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A boy and his Hellworm

by orangepascal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The world is under attack, luckily you have a pet Hellworm! That sure makes it easier to defend the planet..

You just gotta feed him..

Jump onto the small creatures to fill up the Hellworm power. Then thump the ground to tell the Hellworm to come from beneath the surface and attack!

Best played in Chrome, but also works in Firefox and Safari just don't try IE ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#31Fun3.98
#33Graphics4.36
#56Overall3.92
#211Innovation3.58
#277Humor2.93
#285Audio3.19
#298Mood3.31
#408Theme3.43

Comments

omaha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

Another fantastic title from orangepascal. Love the gameplay here.

Frame rate did suffer on my laptop (Mac). There were some rendering artifacts to the left of the screen.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50am

Oh orangepascal, you always deliver!

shyupuff says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50am

Dang this game is hard but also really good (: Couldn't get that far into it. Loved the art. Loved the worm mechanic. Hitboxes to get the heart spaceship thingies were kind of wonky. Overall, amazing. How do people do this stuff in 48 hours?!?!

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:51am

Fantastic

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52am

Very interesting gamplay and good graphics.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53am

Wow its awesome, the graphics feel so pleasant!

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55am

the mechanics took some getting used to , but it is pretty addictive and challenging very nice art and use of theme good job

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55am

Very cool attack patterns, with the hell worm bursting up.

I liked combo jumping on the hatchlings.

I too had artifacts on the left of the screen, but didn't stop me having fun.

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:26am

Wow, really well made game. Had some fun playing it. Graphics are neat, sounds are great, some music would be good, but thats a minor complaint.

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28am

Awesome game. Didn't work on web for me, but the chrome app worked fine. I love the art. Wish the jump was a little higher.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29am

Graphics are really great, loving the colors! Fun game.

qntnm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36am

Super fun, great concept with wonderful execution! One of the best I've played so far!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:07am

I didn't rate because it didn't work in Firefox 28.0, sorry. :(

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15am

A Solid, fast paced and elegant title. loved the pixel art and the entire feel of the game. I really wished for a soundtrack too..Amazing ..

siondream says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

Buah, that's an amazing game mate. Good job. It's polished, fun and looks brilliant. You manage to put together great pixel art so quickly!

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39am

Holy sh-- this is so awesome. Is really well polished for 48 hours. Now excuse me while I play one more round.

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52am

Nice gfx.
Tip: put that describing text into the game so that players will definitely read it :D

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06am

Tried web version, couldn't get it to charge hellworm power, no matter when I jumped. Not sure what I'm missing... so it was jump 9 times then die. Tried it a couple of times.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39am

@mrexcessive: jump on the head of the creatures that run around on the floor ;)

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10am

That was really sweet! Took a bit to understand how to do attacks, but it was really exciting when i found out!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19pm

The best I tried so far :) Excellent graphics, tight controls. Awesome job!

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Fun idea! Took me a while to notice the worm power bar, i just assumed there was a random chance of it showing up (like thumpers to call sandworms in Dune), which would also have been interesting. Granted, i should have just read the description. Nice work!

CareForceOne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Very fun! And pretty tough as well.

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Well done! Controls works great! Pixel art at the best.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

One of my favorites entries so far. Your game is really juicy, I like the souds and I find the graphics amazing ! It's a lot of fun. Good job :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Really nice mechanics! After a few tries I could make it to the second round of the second boss (its minions movement is so annoying!)

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

This is cool! I want my own pet hellworm now. It was a bit fiddly to time the jumping, but that seems like it would get easier with practice.

Big fan of "Heroes of Loot" too, by the way!

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45am

Very fun and I liked the 16 bits graphics.
Maybe you should mirror the ground for a smoother tiling.

bugninja says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50am

The art is amazing, and the game is really addicting. One of the few games I've played so far that I tried over and over again. Got within 1 hit of beating the second boss twice. Would be great on mobile ;)

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:31am

It looks like a real Orangepixel game, but does not yet play like one. The player is a bit to open for attacks when calling the worm. It is still a fun concept.

pansapiens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21am

Great fun, sweet pixel art, solid gameplay ! When I see someone belt out a classic game like this in 48 hours it really motivates me to improve my skills. Incidentally - this mechanic of doing one thing to charge up the meter then firing the big gun (aka worm) past the player avatar from one side of the screen reminds me of Yars Revenge, although I sure that's just coincidence. (Also, you are right about IE :) .. I gave it a try believing that it had improved in recent years. Nup).

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23am

Nice! It has a really arcadey feel to it that makes me want to try again when I die.

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44am

so fun

allurious says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

Really neat game, looks really polished! Love the graphics and the gameplay, great job.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27am

Bar none the best LD game I've played yet. Feels like a fully fleshed out arcade game. The controls, art and gameplay are perfect. Super amazing job for 48hrs especially. What's not to like about back to back boss fights?

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31am

Very nice. I enjoy it.

MerlijnVH says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:44am

Very fun and satisfying, I enjoyed it a lot. It didn't run for me the other day (Firefox), but it works fine now!

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46am

Very nice game.

psychopsam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:54pm

WOW! Mad game. You have got the skillz my man!!!! Gameplay is awesome. I got the skillset within seconds and really enjoyed the game.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Yeah, an amazing title, with gorgeous graphics, perfect gameplay and very polished. Perfect job, cheers ;-)

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

The graphics and gameplay were super polished. Good job :)

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Delicious! Wonderful graphics and effects, and pretty difficult to boot. A game I wanted to get better at.

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Love the graphics.

FatJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49pm

I spent the first half a minute just stomping around, great effects! Looks good, feels good, is good!

MaesK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Great graphics, animations, sounds and mechanic. If only we could earn more points for consecutive killing without touching the floor, that would be awesome. And some music.

But anyway the game works perfectly, and on top of that, is damn fun.

Ekanaut says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Amazing job!

vexille says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Very cool stuff! It would be cool to have a bit more feedback when you get hit. Also in the title screen it says arrow keys + x to play, took me a while to figure out you could jump too!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:19am

Nice feel to it, fun to play, and it looks great! The low jump does make it very easy to accidentally hit enemies, especially with keyboard controls.

This is a great take on the theme. Everyone could use a hellworm.

mollymus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:29am

Awesome stuff, as usual. Love the idea and it plays very nice! Didn't reach the end though, better try again! (Also it didn't run in firefox for me:()

xhunterko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:25am

Odd. I get a picture of a volcano and nothing more? Using firefox if that helps but it's sad cause this looks neat!

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:46pm

really fun! good level of difficulty, kept going until it seemed like the bosses were repeating? not sure if there's an end

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:50pm

The bosses repeat, but once the repeat cycle starts they become tougher and require more attacks to kill. So it's an "endless-monster-stomper with an ever increasing difficulty" sorta game :p

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:31pm

As ever, orangepascal shows us how it should be done. You are truly the master of lo-fi pixel art.

Trilby says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:32pm

A well-polished game.

At first, I thought those bits of lava on the floor could hurt me. Lol

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:58pm

This is a very action packed and very difficult yet fun game

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:25am

Wow very nice gameplay, graphics and sound! well done!

HybridMind says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Really great art and fun gameplay too! I like the variety of the way you have to pay attention to stomping the little guys to earn worm power, and then firing at the bosses. Nice work!

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Goddamn, didn't even manage to kill the second boss after a lot of trying. I just couldn't get a good grasp on the controls. Sure they were tight, but I just couldn't make my character to do what I wanted. Nice graphics and effects. Would've liked an epic background tune to go with it.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

thaaks says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Marvelous! I love your graphics style. I have no idea how you do that but graphics wise I love all your games - do you give pixel art lessons? ;-)
The game is fun and the sound effects are fitting the game.
Background music would have been awesome but I'm already mesmerized by what you achieved already in these 48 hours! Hats off!

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Neat! I knew this was a game by orangepascal as soon as I saw the screenshots :) Cool graphics and sfx, but I miss some music. Although I got the gameplay easily, I found it a bit hard. Maybe I'm a bit goofy :)

dector says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Good orange game :) It would be better to add ability to replay failed stage. Why not.

May 2, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Lol I tried IE - eeeeeeerrrrrrr...

May 2, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Hmm same with Firefox. Nevermind, I have chrome on my work PC I'll give it a play on that tomorrow - looks awesome from the screen :D

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:38am

Great game!

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Very fun and addicive

porglezomp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:08am

Really great! 100% boss battling fun!

ehtd says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:56am

Perfect game, simple and fun

May 6, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Hahaha lovely work! You DO always deliver <3

recursor says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Very fun little game. Nice graphics too.

TheGrieve says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:48am

Great stuff, original tidbit of great gameplay.

Erkberg says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Very interesting gameplay and really good looking, an amazing game overall.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Super polished and really fun, with some goofy enemy design to boot. The only frustrating part was getting those health blimps; I could never get one of them to crack.

SonnyBone says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Really rad! Awesome take on the theme, awesome pixel art, lots of fun, great challenge... just a really solid entry. Thanks for making something unique and fun!

cageinabird says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Now that's an interesting mechanic! The visual style and the controls are really polished too. Great work!

peterlavey says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Very well done! take to fill my heal on the third boss xd

Teesquared says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Nice art style. Very complete game. Difficulty was too high for me but it kept me retrying.

neekobus says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Super smooth. Nice graphics.
A bit repetitive.

May 17, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Excellent and challenging. That third boss surprised me haha. One thing that would have been cool was to have the worm do more powerful attacks based on how full the bar was. But that's just a thought, overall this is one of my favorite entries so far.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]