Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Arctic Desert

by BenW - Jam Entry

You have been stranded in an arctic wasteland and must fight off giant octopodes to survive. Gather new items to upgrade yourself and survive. Gather phase crystals to slow their advance. Try to hold out as long as possible

Controls - ASDF to move. Arrow keys to shoot. Space to dig.

Tips - Make sure to equip items. Items you dig up from the ground are guaranteed rares.

Made by Benjamin Walker, Steve Seator, and Chris Rock.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#347Graphics(Jam)3.45
#393Audio(Jam)3.00
#511Theme(Jam)2.86
#515Fun(Jam)2.73
#519Innovation(Jam)2.68
#530Mood(Jam)2.79
#566Overall(Jam)2.86
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22am

Really nice that you added the ability to shoot while moving, very nice game, good job :)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:10am

The item system is pretty awesome! Got swarmed pretty hard at a certain point. Good work!

João Kucera says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:02am

Great graphics

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:15am

Really creative idea! Super tough, but a pretty good game.

Crusable says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:24am

I feel the controls are a bit awkward with the asdf for movment

Fritzendugan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:37am

nice pixel art. The music worked pretty well, looped well anyway, but it drowned out the other sounds. Which brings me to the detector mechanic.

I actually really like the mechanic, I think it's really cool, but it could've been implemented better. What I mean is, it's really hard to tell when I'm close to stuff. I think there's a little ticking sound, but it's too hard to hear with all the other sounds (should've been like a beep?) And the visual cue could've been better as well.

Also, I wish the upgrades would equip automatically if you didn't have anything equipped in that slot yet. I rarely found upgrades, most playthroughs I was lucky if I got even 3 upgrades, it was just too hard to find a good place to dig before the enemies swarmed you. I'm not saying the game needs to be easier, I'm just saying the detection should be more obvious and the upgrades should auto-equip (maybe a little on-screen summary of what you just picked up).

I have absolutely no idea what the purple gems do. I tried to figure it out but couldn't. I've made it as far as round 12 but couldn't figure out what the gems do.

I wish I could use my mouse to aim instead of just the keyboard. Gamepad support would've been awesome.

Some diversity in the environments would've been cool (trees, more enemies, rocks, stuff like that, things that provide barriers to hide behind and such). The squid things worked well though, I like the little charge they do and how if you run far enough away they leave you alone. Solid enemy AI in that regard.


All in all, I liked it, though. Procedurally generated content, randomized loot, upgrades, endless slaughter, what's not to love? It just needed a little more content and polish and this would've been a really fun game.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

The controls to move and shoot were a little clumsy for me, and I wasn't sure what I was looking for. Like I wasn't sure if I should be looking at the blue circles or trying to hear some sort of indicator for something. I got swarmed at some point, but I have to admit it was pretty satisfying to watch those octopi die and loot them. :)

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Good game ! Those charging octopodes are creepy

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:06am

Great job! The sound and graphics (especially the hand drawn character and octopus!) were great, but it took me a while to figure out what to do (mostly because I skimmed through the text too fast the first time I played *facepalm).

May 3, 2014 @ 4:48am

A lot of neat elements that, in my opinion, just end up taking all the fun out of each other. Between the ridiculously high spawn rate, terrible starting character, unforgiving collision detection, interruptible digging mechanics, and randomly-generated items, it feels like in the end all you can do is endure until you get a lucky streak.

That said, audiovisuals are good, and definitely strengthen the experience when you start seeing some heavy action. And everything works great; it's just a case of a lack of balance between the different features.

Loneshark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:58am

I reached phase 41!

(I opened the inventory menu and went to use the restroom and make a drink)

I can't wait to see this game's NEXT PHASE.

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Too hard to kill enemies, too hard to find items, too hard to hear the detector sounds.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]