Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave Mage: The Deep Quest For The Legendary Yellow Cheese

by Jens Nolte - Jam Entry

Burn some goblins and find the way out of the cave.

Requirements:
DirectX 11 (with DirectX 10 Hardware)
.NET 4.5

Basic controls:
F5: Fullscreen
Alt+F4: Exit

Keyboard controls:
W/S: Move
A/D: Turn
Q/E: Strafe
Space: Shoot fireball
R: Restart game

Gamepad controls:
Left Stick: Move/Strafe
Right Stick: Turn
Right trigger/button: Shoot fireball
Y: Restart game

A game by
@jens_n (programming)
eckenpeppy (artist, level design)
ro (artist)

Special thanks to
@urahziel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#300Mood(Jam)3.20
#380Graphics(Jam)3.36
#448Fun(Jam)2.86
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#500Innovation(Jam)2.71
#511Theme(Jam)2.86
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Pretty cool :)

Lafie says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:42pm

I found my way out of the cave, and I had fun doing it.

The control mechanism is fascinating. It felt a little like a first-person perspective of a top-down arcade game, where the player has limited movement and viewing directions.

The movement required some getting used to, but it did turn the game from an otherwise trivial FPS into a non-trivial challenge.

Jens Nolte says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Update note:
There was a horrible bug in the engine which forced us to completely disable lights/shading in the 1.0 version. This is now fixed. There are no gameplay modifications.

DavidErosa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:24pm

I felt the gamepad controls didn't really fit. Pressing the shoulder buttons at the same time as the left stick didn't react as expected. Other than that, nice game with cool graphics. Thanks!

kibertoad says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Lighting looks good and dungeon/enemy design is neat, good job bringing back oldschool first-person crawler controls. Really wish there was more stuff in it.

fermenter says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Yea so it was pretty fun to explore the cave and shoot the fireballs, but being constrained to a grid was not the most fun. Cool that you did it in 3d though.

Jens Nolte says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:38pm

@DavidErosa: You are absolutely right, the controller preset was stupid. I have fixed that :)

@kibertoad: There was far more planned, but due to external circumstances we just barely managed to create a playable game :(

Cirrial says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Pretty neat graphical style. It could have really done with some indication of whether things respond to hits or not, be it a particle effect or sound.

May 9, 2014 @ 4:54am

Couldn't rate unfortunately... here's a screenshot of the error I got when I tried to run it.
http://i.imgur.com/YGPyWTY.png

xdegtyarev says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:34pm

nice ;)

May 9, 2014 @ 6:30pm

nice gfx, those bastards will kill u fast tho haha

May 13, 2014 @ 3:34am

Nice teamwork, really enjoy the game.
I liked the lights ad the concept.

Maxom says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:08pm

This is awesome. Really lovely low-poly goblins and the lightning is also very nice to look at!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]