Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

fall

by starpixie - Jam Entry

a game about falling.

left and right to move,
up to open your parachute,
and z to launch your grappling hook.

by starpixie and teleskye

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#111Fun(Jam)3.50
#117Humor(Jam)3.35
#208Audio(Jam)3.42
#283Overall(Jam)3.35
#289Theme(Jam)3.32
#479Mood(Jam)2.87
#494Graphics(Jam)3.05
#563Innovation(Jam)2.60
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

SHAME says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

very nice!

ninjascript says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:27am

Major plus points for letting the player watch the lifeless body fall through the rest of the level. Well executed!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:34am

Funny! A bit hard though. :)

hanoth says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:35am

Love it. The thud you make when you hit the side is horrible in the best way possible.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:50am

Great game! I love how you go tumbling after hitting the sides.

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:25am

You had me at "parachute" and you completed me with "grappling hook".

metkis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:58am

Simple and sweet, I enjoyed it!

GamerTaters says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Good parallax effect. Love the aftermath of dying. Simple and fun.

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Nice graphics. dying was pretty funny, spinning and falling for miles downward.

May 2, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Solid fall game, very addictive! ^^

5T4MP5 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:12pm

This is a tight little faller. I'm not sure I understand exactly what is up with the grappling hook. I grappled to a wall, and a "You Won" message appeared. That was a bit confusing. Otherwise, I had a lot of fun with it. Nice Work.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Yes. Let's sky-dive into a volcano :D

May 19, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Very fun and addictive. I decided to write a comment just for saying that the music is amazing, it's one of my favorite of all entries.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]