Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seven Souls

by BrothersT - Jam Entry

This game is designed to have multiple outcomes, but unfortunately we didn't complete it in time. You can still get some of the way through the branching storylines.

We've uploaded what we have (gets broken as you go on) and you can at least enjoy the first stage of the game - which runs v. smoothly. Then my brother (programmer) is going on holiday so I'm (artist) going to try and complete a post compo version ASAP. But judge based on what we submitted originally please :)

Team was: As always - Joseph Thomson (Code) Robert Thomson (Lead Character animation)

Amazing Teammates:

Rufus Blacklock - Backgrounds and music
Tony Clarke - Story and character design
Henry Chung - Sound and additional character animation

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#36Graphics(Jam)4.46
#91Mood(Jam)3.79
#98Audio(Jam)3.74
#177Humor(Jam)3.12
#178Overall(Jam)3.51
#242Innovation(Jam)3.30
#260Theme(Jam)3.38
#461Fun(Jam)2.82

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00am

Looks beautiful, bummer it wasn't done in time!

BrothersT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:42am

Well what we do have was sort of done in time! even though it's not particularly functional ;) still deserves to be judged though!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27am

I wanted to be sure I did everything that's possible to do in the game before closing it. It's laid back, mischievous, clever, and gorgeous. I'll gladly play it again when it's all done.

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Sometimes subtitles were partly out of the screen. And at first I didn't notice you could choose from two different subtitles. Very cool art style tho.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

I don't get it, I don't know how to play x.x I only move around and can't seem to make anything happen

BrothersT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

you can't click on anything?

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:14am

Really enjoyed it. Very expressive characters, especially given their simplicity.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:26am

I love the visual style of this game. Can't wait for the post-compo version, looks like this game could have potential.

tchem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:04am

The artwork is gorgeous,,, great idea,,, a little confuse to me...

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:14am

Amazing visuals! Will be waiting for post compo version!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:49am

I managed to play it now! I was clicking only at the son, which isn't "unlocked" until after I talk to other people.

I REALLY loved the aesthethics and the audio. The characters were unique and charming, everything looked so pretty. The music was spot-on and the chatter sounds added to the style and the mood.

I definitively want to see a completed post-compo version :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:50am

Oh by the way, do you guys have a Twitter account I can follow?

BrothersT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01am

Thanks everyone. It's nice to have such positive feedback even though our game is incomplete.

Red Light Collective - Thanks very much! Glad you like it, and I agree I think our sound guy did an awesome job, especially since he's never done it before! Our twitter handle is @brothersthomson !

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Despite the interface being a tad fiddly, everything else is incredibly on-point. I love the juxtaposition of such a calming soundtrack and pastel visuals in a game about making people drown themselves.

Lars Faust says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Remembered your blog posts and looked your game up.

What a beauty. Stunning artwork. Probably the most gorgeous game made this LD.
Shame you guys didnt get it finished, as i really like the whole point and click idea of influencing the townsfolk. The dialogues are really cool as well.

Would love to see a post-compo version!

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Very well made game, too bad it's not completely done though.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Wow. Just wow. I couldn't get too far--only managed to get four people to drown themselves--but everything that was there was great. The characters are adorable, and you've done a wonderful job ensuring that every one has their own unique voice (especially the sea monster, who's a great combination of creepy, abusive, and cute). Backgrounds are great and clear, and the facial expressions in particular of the shadow people. In terms of feel, it reminds me a little bit of The Curse of Monkey Island.

As for critiques, there's a few things. Obviously, the first one is "Finish the game and let me play it!" But after that, there is a problem with text getting cut off--or the zoom going out far enough that it's hard to read. You should probably add a note mentioning that you can move your critter around, since I thought it was a point-and-click game and didn't go underwater until I saw your screenshot up there indicating that you could. And, finally, the swimming itself seems like it's pitched slightly too slow. You've got a great scrunchy swimming movement, but it doesn't seem to completely match the pace that the character is moving through the water.

Obviously, great game. I'm so glad you're doing a post-compo version!

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:28pm

The art and atmosphere were great, but it was unclear how to actually play the game.

Sanguine says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Great audio, graphics and mood! Loved the dialogue!

May 3, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I really liked the animation and graphics in the game. Too bad it wasn't quite finished. Nicely done.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Could you please be a bit more clear in the description of what the player can or can't do? Because I pressed every key and clicked a bunch and could only move the ghost that's under the surface. Can't even float up.

MaesK says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Good graphics! Audio and conversations are fine, too, but I would specify controls somewhere. OH, and as a non-english speaker, it is really difficult to follow "troll monster" lines :D

Nice job with the mood!

hbocao says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:47am

Aww too bad it isn't finished. Looks so pretty! And the concept seems so promising. :( Good job so far!

TobiasW says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Observations while playing, might be out of any kind of order:
- It took me a while to understand that I am the little character down there and I can actually move! It looked so much like it was just part of the scene, and I thought I could play this game just by clicking at people - and then I only noticed there were dialog options down there a few minutes later.
- It might help to have some sort of gui element indicating that I can talk to somebody.
- The sounds accompanying the dialogue are absolutely wonderful. Especially the kid!
- The "accent" of the creature is great, haha.
- Pressed Escape to close the current dialog menu. It closed the game instead without confirmation. Great. Restarting :/ (Also there doesn't seem to be a way to close the dialog menu.)
- So, I got it down to the three people on the left, but now I don't know how to go on anymore - no new dialogue options. Did I miss something earlier than I can't do anymore now? Reading the description it's probably just the current end?

That was just great! Interesting dialogue with good writing, a very clean art style that's incredibly pleasing to look at and great sound effects/music. Great job! I'm looking forward to the post compo version!

(An nau, if ya jus cam daun into the watr, I'd giff ya a gud rating fer shure!)

DavidErosa says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Amazing piece of art. Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]