Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Klondike Nuggets

by jerombd - Jam Entry

It's a basic roguelike where you explore a XIXth gold mine.
Unfortunately, I added only few features: you can collect gold, food and lamps (very useful to avoid death).
The map reveal all the room.

The goal is (of course) to explore a lot of levels.


[arrows] or [numpad] to move.
[numpad 5] or [SPACE] to wait.
[L] to look around (buggy) and [SPACE] to escape.

I didn't have time to add these features:
- inventory
- fauna (AI, etc.)
- PNJ (ghost of dead prospectors! outlaws! spirits!)

-------------------------
tiles from tilesets made by Derk Yu http://makegames.tumblr.com/post/41267990744/before-spelunky-i-started-a-simple-little.
Font found on the Dwarf Fortress wiki: http://dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/Tileset_repository
-------------------------

My first attempt to make a roguelike: well, 3 days is not enough^^ So I probably add more stuff in the next weeks, and the post-LD version should more interesting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Theme(Jam)3.38
#266Graphics(Jam)3.65
#413Overall(Jam)3.14
#442Mood(Jam)2.95
#496Fun(Jam)2.76
#500Innovation(Jam)2.71
#570Audio(Jam)2.41
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32am

Love the dwarf fortress style graphics and game play.
A little confusing to start with though.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36am

Great visuals & the randomize situations works perfectly !

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00pm

I'm not entirely a fan of this kind of game. But I took that emotion out and gave it an honest go.

Overall, it wasnt bad for a DOS Game lookalike!
I found there wasn't enough lamps, and the gameplay didn't feel all too rewarding; but I did enjoy myself for a good 5-10 minutes until I had absolutely no light, walking blind and suddenly died :P

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:16am

like dwarf fortress!! great!! great!! =D

Nelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:42pm

I'm not understanding all of it? but it's really nice game! Thank you!

Integershift says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Dwarf Fortress style and graphics were good!

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Got to floor -7, but by then I had already lost my torch and could only see a smart part of the room. So, after wandering for a while I quit.
I hadn't played a proper roguelike game until now, but it was nice. It's a pity, though, that I was able to grab all those cool items but couldn't use them... =/

burgerdare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I like that your character actually leaves a trail of "footprints" behind. Makes it very easy to keep yourself from getting overly lost.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:41am

I really like where this game is going, I got confused when my viewable area started to disappear, then I died. I hope you do something more with this!

td1801 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Too bad you haven't finish that ! It's so cool !

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Great graphics, and I absolutely love the name of the game for some reason

May 7, 2014 @ 9:14pm

I like the mechanic of the vision range gradually creeping closer. Also, nice job with the text feedback when the player moves or takes action.

jujule says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I love the the rogue like aesthetic so much that I enjoyed just walking around. That was actually one of the moodiest entry so far.
3 days is indeed short. Consider entering the 7drl. Good job nonetheless.

jerombd says ...
Jul 28, 2014 @ 11:17pm

v2 here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/12598037/Klondike/index.html
Inventory + better code + some improvements. Still a shitty game^^ But I'd love to see someone create a real roguelike with this theme ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]