Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Die Backpfeife aus dem Nichts

by primaerfunktion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your friend has no idea that he is posessed by the devil. Slap it out of him by clicking on him. Don't kill him.

Which means: As the devil gets more visible you will get a higher score for slapping your friend and he loses less health.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#37Humor3.90
#172Fun3.55
#225Mood3.45
#229Innovation3.55
#269Graphics3.63
#324Theme3.53
#348Overall3.40
#419Audio2.97

Comments

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29am

I needed this game in my life.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50am

Weirdly addicting.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14am

Aww this was real interesting I must say.

Innovation and graphics in a fun and stylish experiment!

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

This is such a LSD trip. I like it. :D

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00am

Nice little game.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00am

the background noise is dope yo

gnerkus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20am

I can keep playing this for hours! This is the most creative use of the theme I've seen.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26am

Slapping faces is fun! Nice use of theme and a bit addicting too. Might go and slap that face some more now! :)

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40am

This is brilliant.
The animations, the idea, the bloody title.

The only thing i noticed is that sometimes the guy transforms into Satan so quickly it is impossible to click fast enough.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38am

Everything about this is great!

Tifu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45pm

High score 1003 :D

VDZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Can't say I'm too impressed by this game. It's a very basic 'click before timer reaches 0' mechanic that does nothing to set itself apart from other games using such mechanics, and there's nothing to the game besides that. The random background noise does not really add to the experience in my opinion. Though the theme was used for the visual presentation of the game, it has no effect on the gameplay (and the 'possessed by the devil' flavor doesn't really have anything to do with the gameplay itself).

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Brilliant and hilarious. I love this game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

The gre

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Wow ! That's weird and hilarious ! That's an awesome job. Your game is memorable :D

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55pm

The best I've seen so far (not that I have played that many games yet).
There are with every LD some totally unexpected games. For me this was one.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01pm

That was... anders. Great work!

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:34am

love the visual style

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Managed 2107 as my highscore. Strangely satisfying game :P Simple and to the point with decent graphics! Not bad!

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Can't get enough face slapping!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Haha! This is great! Funny concept, simple but addictive gameplay and very nice visual design! I love it!

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Hah, this is wacky. I like it.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Oh heavens, what a creepy game ._. Great graphics, really stylish, and the backing audio doesn't hurt either. It's interesting trying to balance the mutual, incompatible desires of slapping the devil out of your friend and keeping him alive--though I do end up asking myself if there's a mathematical ceiling on possible scores. Is there a zone where I can slap him without doing any damage, but still protect him from the transformation? I just don't know!

Anyway, this was great. Thanks for the game!

(High score: 2280)

May 1, 2014 @ 5:00pm

First of all thanks you guys and/or gals!

And well, it's technically possible to not make any damage. But it's impossible to get the right timing down I'd say. And there are no zones. It's just the whole guy.

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:27am

Haha, oh sh*t, I killed him almost instantly! I clearly have surpressed rage issues. D: Brilliant concept presented really well. Well done!

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:50am

that slap sound is satisfying :)

pansapiens says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:05pm

I distinctly remember saying, "okay last try". It wasn't :)

May 4, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Quite Fun! It's hard to see when the devil is taking control but once you understand the signs it's easy to go full five-fingers-exorcist on him.

baboum says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:46pm

When I first played it I didn't get a thing, but I tried it again to rate and I just love it! Nice concept, audio, graphics, just great.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]