Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Iron Rising

by tripleVisionGames - Jam Entry

Please let me know if you think it needs any tweaks, I'm working on a post jam 'reloaded' version :D

I've left a link at the top but it's still a work in progress. It is a lot easier as that was the main complaint, but still hard!

I said I had no time, so I made something simple and difficult (like I always tend to do). High scores on Newgrounds, ran out of time for achievements sorry!

Thanks to Max (@ProfXubberley on twitter) for all his help with the sound and music - it is awesome.

***********************

It is 1984

A rogue general has taken control of our great navy.
He is preparing to launch nuclear strikes on capital to provoke retaliation against the old enemy.

Now, only you stand alone. You must destroy your own comrades, for the good of the people.

May your death save the lives of millions.

Warning has reached the capital. The populous is being evacuated. Each U-Boat you sink will delay the launch and allow more citizens to reach the safety of our nuclear bunkers.

Press Z to scan to search for other U-Boats.

You cannot move or fire while scanning.

Be careful. If you are looking for them, they might see you too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#71Theme(Jam)3.81
#78Audio(Jam)3.82
#150Overall(Jam)3.56
#152Graphics(Jam)3.96
#154Mood(Jam)3.57
#304Fun(Jam)3.11
#321Innovation(Jam)3.11
#552Humor(Jam)2.12

Comments

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Pretty straightforward and it looks good, I found somewhat difficult to hit enemies but I guess that's part of the challenge. It did frustrate me a bit though because of the one hit kills ><

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Awesome presentation and quite unique, also enjoyed the music. It's tricky to play for me though since Y and Z are switched on a German keyboard, making it really hard to scan and shoot. Still an awesome game!

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01am

Beautiful game, no doubt. Very entertaining, and frustrating (I like those). Great replayability, too. Still going at it!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40am

Oh. This is a good one. Very difficult but something frash with amazing underwater nervous athmosphere.
Good job!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:15am

great and difficult. Love the feel and tone too. good work.

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29am

Great game, very entertaining ! Audio and atmosphere are excellent. Nicely done !

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Hard as hell, but really great presentation! Polished and solid gameplay. I wish the submarine movement was a bit faster but otherwise this is a really great entry. Thanks! :)

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Pretty fun and straightforward, very difficult though. Also liked the graphics and the music. :)

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:20pm

This is awesome. Looks really nice and is a fun game! Good job guys

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Really really cool aesthetic; somewhat hard to play. Overall, I liked it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Really cool game. The mood is super great, and it's overall very polished and coherent experience. I feel that you could have stripped some complexity from the games controls to make it more streamlined. For example, I don't really see any value in the reloading mechanic, this could have really been automatic.
Also, the layout of your buttons is unfriendly to keyboard layouts outside of the us; for my german keyboard, having the scan functionality so far away from the other two actions made it almost unplayable. You could offer an alternative control which just uses the number buttons 1-3 or something similar.

gnerkus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:44am

It's difficult to turn and the enemies are fast. Despite that, I kept replaying because of the music and sound effects.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:20am

Very entertaining game. The audio/visuals set a great atmosphere, great job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:09am

Thanks for all the feedback! I've got a full page of tweaks already :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:30am

Hey man.

You truly are a one man studio.
Great sense of style, gameplay and also a bit of story.

Real nice going.

You are very versatile!

local minimum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice and simple graphics. It took me three tries until I got some sort of hang of it (doubt 15 is very impressive score).

That the enemies could just run into you felt a bit unfair. They should also need to launch torpedoes, I think. You could also give the player torpedo in the water feedback.

You could add ability to drop some debris in path of enemy torpedo to avoid the blast and other tactics seen on submarine movies.

I liked the game. The effects and attention to details. The main issue to keep playing, I think is to make it feel as the game is fair and it is up to the skills of the player... maybe ease it up by giving more time bonus early on and the less and less as time progresses. You could also play with the size of the game, to every now and then have it zoom out a bit and make it more difficult...just some ideas

May 1, 2014 @ 3:08am

Really nice game! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) youtu.be/HquvNllyc50

Split82 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:36pm

I love the style and graphics. It was a little bit difficult for me :) Could kill 3 submarines max :D

conormn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Man, really great game. Loved it :)

Tititesouris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:46pm

This game is really hard, but pretty fun too. Good job.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:52pm

A bit too difficult..
But looks and feels awesome!

yokcos700 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:54pm

One of the few games I've played thus far with sound of any kind, and it's great sound at that. The visual style is excellent, and the gameplay is frustrating, perhaps a bit unfair, but damned fun.

I have saved 80 people.

raulincze says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:44pm

I found it to be almost impossibly difficult. At least right in the beginning I had lots of trouble avoiding the other submarines.

I really love the sound and the mood it creates!

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Really good. Some suggestions:
1) Multiply the score by the average fatalities from a nuclear strike. Exploding 17 nuclear submarines and saving 85 people seems ridiculous.
2) Saving "souls" is a break from the soviet theme, as the Soviet Union was an atheist state, and expected high-confidence officers to hold it.
3) Add a cone of "light" (visibility) to the front of the submarine, like in rnlf's game: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=30930

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Great game! Liked your scan mechanics.

orangepascal says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:37am

nice graphics, simple gameplay but it works and it's fun :)

ninjacharlie says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Really cool game. The shooting was really difficult (a little too difficult), but other than that, it was awesome. Good job :)

Frump says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:19am

Pretty good. I think it would be better if the enemy subs also tried shooting at you instead of ramming into you.

kevinAlbs says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

WOW this is polished. Beautiful artwork and sounds/music. Pretty fun, it was very hard as others said, but I don't think I mind it being difficult. Good work!

monsterkillu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:14am

Amazingly polished game. I felt a lot constrained by the 2 torpedos, long reload time, the approaching enemies while scanning. I wish i could see a fading enemy after i scan them. Great atmosphere btw.

01101101 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:23am

Not that easy to dodge enemies, but well done. The mood is pretty good.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:23am

really like this game - effects were cool - nice job

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]