Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kaiju Rift

by Ted Brown - Jam Entry

KAIJU RIFT is a first-person giant robot simulator!

Thrill to an epic soundtrack as you crush a rebellious city which threatens the world with an underground weapon!

We got so excited about this project that we registered kaijurift.com, and will soon be porting it to the Oculus Rift! Follow @Oreganik to keep in touch.

Game by Ted Brown
Music by Michael McCarthy
SFX by Michael Jones
Voice Over Production by Will Bucknum

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2196Coolness0%

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

Well produced, however, I find that the start events are not straightforward. I ended up guessing what I had to do, maybe some instructions/tutorial could help. Nice music.

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:57am

Whee, what a power rush piloting a 100 meter tall mech through an enemy city! :D

Could use some more polish of course (controls were a bit unclear, and it would be nice to lay down a hail of bullet fire, instead of only clicking the targets), but the idea is great!

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Thank you for the feedback, pvwradtke. Based on that, I added a launch screen that shows the controls, and implores people to turn on their sound. :)

Glad you liked it, zzorn! I definitely want the chance to add more awesomeness!

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:13am

Wow, I really got the impression of being a huge robot/monster. The music was great, the sound effects were excellent, the camera motion when you walk really put you in the scene.

radmars says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Nice! Punching is so satisfying :D The sound & music are great but the levels are a bit off, some sound effects were too loud and the VO is a bit too low.

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:04pm

The game looks epic!!

Penguincat says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:26pm

In spite of the limited mobility, this was a lot of fun to play - really made me feel like I was towering over the city in a mech! The voice-over audio was good but got easily drowned out by effects. Although it didn't fit very well with the theme of this LD, I'd definitely like to see this expanded into a longer game, with greater mobility, more missions, and new weapons!

DesignerNap says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:29pm

I totally think the music and the audio made this. I am really impressed. Played it a couple of times as I wanted to know if the helicopters were good or bad (killed them all on the first run!) Love the scale, atmosphere and tone. Great work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]