Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seed

by AgentParsec - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Grow the seedling up to the surface before you run out of water or get caught by a bug. Hold left mouse button to grow in the direction of the mouse pointer.

Each level adds additional rocks and bugs. See how far you can get!

This is a departure from my usual creepy stuff. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#20Theme4.13
#29Mood4.11
#37Audio3.93
#113Innovation3.83
#191Overall3.61
#347Graphics3.49
#555Fun3.02
#799Humor2.11

Comments

Arakade says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:07am

Beautiful. Almost meditative :-)

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:59am

Agree with the first comment! Felt like flower. Could be interesting with a couple of extra gameplay mechanics to keep you hooked. Overall A really enjoyable and relaxing experience :)

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

Love the music, very peaceful and calming game, thanks for sharing :).

nerdybirdy346 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

This was great, what a chill, relaxing game!

Sim00n says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

I love the graphics and I like the sound but there isn't much to this game. I wish there was more gameplay or at least that it happened quicker. On the other hand, this slow growth is kinda soothing. You got me confused mate. God job anyways.

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

First time I've played a game like this, nice job.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

Interesting, unique concept. Nice simple graphics, pretty soundtrack. Great job!

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

Soothing...

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00am

Found it hard to see the water on my screen, bit to dark I guess, so took me some time to figure out how to actually grow without running out of water ;) but very enjoyable and peaceful game

graebor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Really liked this, but I was expecting it to continue when I got to the surface. Ending the level there felt abrupt to me.

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Cool game, nice and good gameplay.

evilDan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Holy F*ck! AMAZING GAME! Really very, very rad!

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:33am

Very nice relaxing game! Love the music and artstyle. More variety would have helped a lot though.
Good work :)

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

It's too dark at least with f.lux on , couldn't see anything. But I managed to finish some levels anyways.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:12am

Really creative idea and the graphics are great.

ryangatts says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:12am

I really liked the work you put into the audio and roots. It was a bit too easy, but I think that was the point. :)

AgentParsec says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:22am

@ryangatts -- It gets harder with each level as more rocks and bugs are added. The furthest I've gotten (as of writing this) is level 11.

elefantopia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:31am

An inspiring, peaceful game! The music is perfect.

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:11am

I really like this concept, but I wish you add something for explorers like me... I spend some lives going all left or right. The mood is so calm and remind me of Flower by That Game Company. Very cool entry!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Too dark in the beginning, I can't really see what I'm doing until just before surfacing. Somewhat disappointing, as that part is really good, I just wish I could see the rest of it.

AgentParsec says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:32am

@Empyrealhell -- Brightness with the monitor? Mine is at its default, and I can see things fine. I could make a brightness adjuster, but I just didn't have time within 48 hours.

ndebruyn says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Overall this is really a nice idea.

May 8, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Really nice game. I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/f3WpQDAZRnI

mariscal says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:01pm

A really simple and nice game, well done! We had a similar idea for this ludum dare :) Love the music!

dertom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Very good one! It is just beautiful to cruise through mother earth and see the roots spread out. I like how you play with the light, which gets up comming closer to the top. Very good job and fits the theme 100%

Muciojad says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:18am

Very relaxing game, I like this game of lights. Music spans all game elements together and gives unique climate. Good work.

Dans17 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:38am

Really nice game! I think it would work well as an app too

Zerkruemler says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Nice and relaxing music. The gameplay is a little bit strange. Is it about the correct monitor setting, or just luck to find the water reservoirs?
Nevertheless good idea and solid implementation.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]