Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Only Way is Down

by tompudding - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's some sort of apocalypse!
There are zombies!
You have to go down!

You are use the mouse and WASD and maybe number keys!

For Linux you can play the source if you install python-pyopengl and python-pygame and run waydown.py

Edit: Added the Windows package

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Audio3.71
#95Humor3.53
#225Graphics3.73
#251Overall3.52
#298Mood3.31
#408Theme3.43
#415Fun3.18
#660Innovation2.91
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

Huder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36am

Why only source?

S├ębastien says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Very good game !
But don't forget that not everyone has a qwerty keyboard :)

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32pm

the gameplay would be way smoother/more fun if you were able to punch while running, could use some stuff like screenshakes in my opinion, graphics are quite cool ::::)))))

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Nice game.

I think being able to attack while moving would be nice, as it kinda sucks that you need to completely stop before attacking.

Loved the sound effects!

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

This game has a lot going for it. Cool sound, cool graphics, cool atmosphere. That said, you really need to tighten up those controls. When it comes to platformers, tight vs clunky controls makes all the difference in the world. I shouldn't keep sliding off platforms I'm trying to land on. Spend a little more time on that and you've got yourself a really solid (if short) entry!

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Sounded great and looked great!

DarkMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:54am

Nice game!

Also...
TAKE THAT! *punch* :P

TheColorMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:12am

Nice game! it's impossible to use fists/axe without having half your health taken out though but I guess that's part of the challenge.

CrackedP0t says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Love the voice acting :)

JimmyBoh says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Haha, I love surfing the zombies, although that should probably be fixed. Great job with sound and graphics, I really like the style! It also bugs out like crazy when I move the window (incorrect game time == player falling though walls).

Tosic says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Oh no, zombies are attacking meeeee!!! LOL, try my game! :D

May 14, 2014 @ 10:27pm

hahah very awesome and fun game :D i thought i could just jump to aviod the zombies on the surface and keep walking to the left but i stopped on the limit :c Great work :D

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:53am

Loved the sound effects, graphics, and gameplay was good. But the controls! I wish it were a easier to control the player.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]