Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Agent Thursday

by cageinabird - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about an undercover cop making his way through a murky criminal underworld.

In each scene, find the clues and talk to people, then piece it all together to work out who the boss is. There are three 'bosses' (Big Cheese, Chief, and Top Dog), but only one is the real boss.

Arrow keys to move.
X to interact with people and clues.
C to accuse someone with your gun.
H to check each clue you have uncovered.
M to mute the music if it gets too annoying.

I hope it's not too difficult and can be worked out, as it was hard to design puzzles of this nature.

Let me know if there are any problems with links/builds, or any showstoppers in the game.

All feedback, constructive criticism, unconstructive criticism, etc. welcome!

Edit: I've added a post-compo version for people who wish to play through to the end without enduring the slow dialogue. The post-compo version has the following changes:
- The default text speed is quicker
- Pressing either X or C will skip text
- You no longer have to find all items before making an accusation, but you will get a warning before hand.
- The player animation system has been redone (and is no longer an absolute mess).
- The hint screen has been polished.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#81Graphics4.14
#94Mood3.78
#197Humor3.13
#221Overall3.56
#394Audio3.00
#555Innovation3.07
#649Fun2.92
#676Theme3.13

Comments

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

Can't move anymore if i press x just after the end of the beggining talk

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31am

Ouch, not the start I had in mind! Thanks for catching that - I had to remove a bit of nonsensical code.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:51am

The visuals are awesome, and it has a really good mood (5 stars), I really enjoy playing it!

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54am

I wish there was a way to speed up the dialogs. But very good graphics! :)

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54am

I would appreciate if the dialogues could be skipped. I'm reading much faster than sentences appear. Otherwise I love the graphics and the mood.

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

Great work! But the dialogue is a bit slow, in my opinion. Please check out my game! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34910

voxel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

I'd also like to be able to hurry the dialogue along a little and the music got old pretty fast, but I loved everything else. Definitely my favourite game so far

ApoorvaJ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Dialogue speed up would've made it smoother, but great work on the art, music and puzzle design.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Great look and feel, talked to everyone and found clues, didn't get it right though. So hard to balance dialogue pace and making sure everyone gets to see the info.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45pm

This looks really good! Shame that the dialogue is slowing everything down so much...

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I hate the fact that you have to wait for the text to finish before moving

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Really AWESOME!
The game is complete, long, graphics are cool, audio is great, and that's really fun to play! I did not finish it because each time you are wrong, you need to re-find ALL the clues and it's really long, and the theme doesn't seems to be respected except if the guy we're searching is beneath the surface... I did not finish the game so I won't rate the theme but the rest of the game is fantastic! :)

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

I had a feeling not including a skip dialogue button would come back to haunt me. :p

@hexabeast: You only need to find the 5 items to make an accusation. It was to stop people accidentally bypassing the puzzles, but I understand that it could be frustrating.

@TheMorfeus: Yeah, in hindsight, there's no reason it should be that way. Down to laziness on my part more than anything.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Very nice mystery.

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

The controls feel a little clunky and sluggish, but the overall game was quite funny and charming in it's offbeat, quirky kind of way.

trueyomic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53am

Mostly great! I wish I had time to finish it, but having to hunt down all the clues from scratch again with slow dialog (which isn't a problem the first time around) is really tedious. I did get to the third scenario. Very fun; you get some good ratings from me.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01am

I like the look. It's a slow moving game, like others have said, a dialogue speed up or skip would've been nice. Overall a pretty good puzzle game, good job.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30am

Even with the bug of 'i need to get closer' when I'm standing right on top of the guy on the toilet having talked to everyone and not being able to accuse the person bug it's a nice game.

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35am

Pretty cool.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Played the original version to give a fair rating :) The conversations is a bit slow, but aside from that the mood and graphics in this game are nice. Well done.

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:46pm

It's a bit annoying that you cannot skip through the text (especially if you're reading it for the second time).

It's still a great game you have here, I was really sucked in. Good job!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:06pm

I think the theme is intact from the get go, I mean you are very literally looking for clues, and things are hidden under the surface, no one is who they seem...

TeamInCharge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

It is proper old school! Awesome. I also thought about doing an undercover game... you pulled it off! :)

madmaw says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:02am

Any game with a guy on the crapper is a good game

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:56am

As others said the dialogue is somewhat slow but hey it's a full proper game! Loved the graphics and atmosphere. Awesome

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:10pm

This is a good work !
impressive graphics !

iambored2006 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:14pm

I haven't played a detective game in years! Only in LD can you find this stuff. Anyway, I'll come back to it later to finish it.

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Hooray for mystery games! I enjoyed interrogating the bar staff and collecting clues, but it sometimes felt like the conclusions it tried to draw you to were vague. I would have expected a more sombre piano jam, considering the aesthetics, too.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:16pm

great mood and visuals! pretty awesome, congrats!

malmazuke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:06am

Too slow!

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:14am

I think it took too long to get from the intro to the actual action and there was a bit too much dialogue that took too long but the game itself has real potential, I'd love to see it get an even more post-post-compo version!

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Too bad you can not skip the text, but a nice game.

JavadocMD says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very fun and you accomplished a great deal in the time constraints. Well done! The art and character design is beautiful. As for the mystery itself, I was a bit surprised to have to think so far outside of the box on the last puzzle, but it was rewarding once I figured it out. I did have to brute force the second stage, I think mostly because there's a lot of conflicting information to deal with. But in the end it was very enjoyable. Going to go try the Post-Compo version now!

Penguincat says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:39am

This was pretty good, except I don't like how you lose control over the character when dialogue is popping up (even in the Post-Compo version). Also sometimes the game stops responding to my input. But overall this was well put together, nice work!

mustaine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:13am

Love the atmosphere and the exploration parts of this game. Lots of keys to memorize, put the game keys on the HTML page so people can remember without mashing the wrong button.

Player monologue sometimes blocks movement, frustrating.

bombjack says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:58am

I like the ambiance

May 7, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Great mood, and lots of really fun and funny clues. I wasn't able to solve anything, though: in the first two rooms I got two under-cover cops. I wasn't feeling great about my chances, so I gave up before the third room.

Also, great use of the theme! Really unexpected.

cageinabird says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:56am

There's nothing wrong with your solving skills, arrogant.gamer, you got the right guys!

That they are undercover is part of the story. I tried to make it a little clearer in the post-comp version.

matt_j says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Controls were a little annoying. I like the style, however. Certainly needed an ability to jump through dialogue.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Such noir!
Very fun.
Good gameplay.
No need to say more!

May 12, 2014 @ 4:22pm

5 stars all the way. You win.

Crowbeak says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:42am

I like how the game gives you everything you need but doesn't just hand you the answer. I suspected the culprit from early on, though, so it was nice to be right. I also like the fact that you have a pianist going behind the piano music.

taocayo says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:41am

Lots of stars on the mood, graphics and humor. Specially on the graphics. Liked how the story wraps on itself with the liars and health records.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]