Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SubmarineArena

by HeavyMetalKid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Epic 4 player submarine battles deep beneath the waves.

Run the jar to play, You'll need Java 1.7 installed. Controls are explained in the game.

Includes support for up to 4 controllers, tested with an XBox 360 controller (though should work for others!). Make sure the controllers are plugged in/turned on before starting the game.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#312Fun3.33
#676Theme3.13
#687Mood2.86
#699Humor2.24
#782Audio2.30
#884Overall2.85
#899Innovation2.60
#1014Graphics2.46
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

mashedtatoes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

Nice game. I wish there people here to play it with. Seems like it could be really fun. The ai pooped itself after a little though. Two of them just crashed into each other and died and the other one stopped moving/shooting altogether.

seantheartist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59pm

I really liked the game, it was fun and intuitive. I played solo and wish I had more people here to play with, the AI also pooped out after a while for me. Still really fun.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

neat little game. The wall collisions seem broken because I can push through them. Also, a chest spawned outside the arena at one point. Overall fun little arena game :D

lorancou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

A bit glitchy (got stuck in the geometry after a while), but fun. More polish and you'd have a good party game!

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Despite all its little flaws and imperfections, it's still a fun game. I love these types of arena games.

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47pm

That was fun, it worked great with my game pad straight off the bat. Nice one

copain says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:03am

fun but need good assets
(nice we can get bonus with fire)
(I can't make diagonal fire with my controller (xbox))

solkar says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:43pm

I love bloody submarines!!!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]