Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Happy Fishing

by Vandash - Jam Entry

Happy Fishing is a colloraboration between Flash and Unity, where the 2D world meets the 3D world. On the top, you have the Flash game, where you control a boat dumping love TNT into the ocean. Below, you have the Unity game, where you explode the TNT, drive the fish crazy with love, causing them to jump into the air. If two fish meet in the air, sparks fly, magic happens, and a new baby fish is brought into the world \o/

Be careful not to let any fish land in your boat though, otherwise they'll die from a broken heart... :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation(Jam)4.44
#109Theme(Jam)3.70
#152Graphics(Jam)3.96
#229Humor(Jam)2.96
#292Mood(Jam)3.22
#297Overall(Jam)3.33
#431Audio(Jam)2.92
#486Fun(Jam)2.78
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

diemer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53am

What a cool idea to combine the two platforms!

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57am

lol this is the most ridiculous stack for game development I've ever seen

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

very impressive the tech-mix, good graphics and good audio

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Love the idea - wish the TNT would explode a bit faster, though! Don't like waiting. :P

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:32am

Interesting concept from a technical standpoint

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

this is AMAZING!!
I never saw something like this before. jaw dropping

Loneshark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

At some point I found myself TRYING to kill all the fish.

Sorry if that wasn't the game's intended effect...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:02am

That's the wildest thing I've seen in a jam! I can't wait for the postmortem.

joe40001 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:36am

Full points for innovation and theme. Very clever and well executed. 2 points:
1. What on earth is going on in preview pic 1?
2. Should we be concerned when the children fish jump into their parent fish and produce another fish? :O

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Now that is INNOVATION. I'll be really surprised if you don't score highly at least on that! Not too interesting as far as the gameplay goes though.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

May 2, 2014 @ 2:04am

Breeding fish with barrelfuls of explosive pheromones. And here I thought our concept was weird.

Neat experiment. And it works nicely. Good job!

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:35pm

very interesting idea!

DonovanWu says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:56am

Combining flash and unity platforms is amazing!

GFM says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:19pm

How (and why XD) did you guys connect Unity to Flash? From a technical point of view, this is really interesting! (though, I think it's kind of "application 1 sends message to application 2", without much mystery to the actual implementation... don't know XD)

As for the game, it's quite nice. I didn't get to a point where so many baby fish were born as in the picture... but it should feel really nice!
It's a fun and cute game. :)

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:54am

Really well done on the mix of unity and flash and the underwater scene is spectacular but it felt a bit unstable on my laptop.

gmaker says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:40am

really cool idea! its high five!

p.s.(jump formula into my game: ya = -4.0 * Math.abs(xa)*2.0; xa - acceleration by X.)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]