Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ben Eath The Surf Ace

by mess110 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ben Eath The Surf Ace

Adventure RPG like game. Story inside. Intel outside.

Arrow key to move around
q - spell 1
w - spell 2
e - stun
r - ultimate

i - level up skill tree


enjoy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#45Humor3.84
#823Innovation2.70
#935Fun2.57
#985Audio1.73
#1058Theme2.46
#1070Mood2.34
#1122Graphics2.22
#1178Overall2.40

Comments

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:13am

haha, the same idea! I'll try it after some sleep!

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

never loads

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21am

Hey, it did have sound after all!

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

love that description

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59am

I... I can't believe I fell for the trick! Well done, had a great time.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

lol.. funny game.

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

I fell for it hahahahha

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25am

Funny name. Wish there was a game to go with the name, but the idea will have to do.

Also, unless I'm mistaken, that applause soundtrack is against the rules. I'll just rate Audio N/A.

indigofiz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

10/10 would recommend to someone to mess with them.

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

What is this maaaadness?

Stuck on waiting 15 seconds!!!

Then loaded again.

Then I fell for it.



Great title BTW.

maxhaesslein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52am

hahahahaha

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:00am

Fun ! But wtf ?

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01am

Not amused.

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01am

Ok, totally not the same game as mine, just the same title :D
And I thought I made a silly game.
Damn, I think I have to rate this highly now.

Well done (although the game could have done without the last sentence).

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

goerp: yea that was a BIG gamble. that is why I added the open-minded part.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:50pm

totally fell for it!

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Gotta love the humour :D The game is a serious mega-troller! PS: totally fell for the Ctrl+W, I usually Ctrl+F4 my way out of tabs, hahah.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

You got me. :) Very nice. Put a big grin on my face!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Hahaha, funnyness man! :D

chrisamaphone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53pm

really strong gameplay here ;)

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26pm

LOL!!! Just LOL!!!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Pretty funny, little to none gameplay.
But I like the pixel style a lot!

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Couldn't get past the start screen. I waited 15 seconds but nothing happened. I feel it can be a little more intuitive. I liked the humor from what I saw though.

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I like the secret ending in this game

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35pm

A fine lil' game. Though the narrator had something to go do. I guess I'll play it when he's not so busy?

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

hah, that was pretty clever. Btw guys im stuck on catacombs boss fight, what do i do next? Should i level up my dexterity and make some potions of strength?

Seme says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Haha, awesome! I really liked this

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

5/5 Audio-stars.

ViKing Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Hm... I got stuck on the alien monkey king battle. Anyone know where his weak-point is?

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

-_- you got me. XD

person124 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I don't even know.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42pm

That was certainly... different!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16am

Hahahaha what bbbahaha

shuanDang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48am

:( where's my surf board?

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

That was great. Thanks!

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37am

Loved the controls. Great writing!

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33am

Game wouldn't load, unfortunately.

Druid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18am

Srsly .. f*ck you XD XD XD

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38am

Haha, made me laugh so hard, LOVE IT :D
(and Fu2 btw. ;) )

mikedirl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Great idea, something a little different.

dejant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Nice idea. Very funny :)

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:09am

Super Funny!! Every day you trolling!

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:07am

Very stupid but I loved it :)

May 1, 2014 @ 9:28am

I dont get it....

Kragnir says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Nice idea, the messages were a bit fun but it would be nice with some gameplay.

May 2, 2014 @ 2:38am

The ice level was my favorite.

Loneshark says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:06am

http://mess110.github.io/ld48/sounds/applause.mp3

ethankennerly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:48am

The part about press Space, Enter, back to Space, backspace tickled me. If you continue to develop this, I was hoping to surf.

thinkster says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Well thought out and pretty funny. Enjoyed it! Kind of wish there was a little game at the end lol

ActionRemix says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:07pm

How did I fall for Ctrl+W? :U

vladimirdlc says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:08am

Love the title, fun game.

wademcgillis says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Finally got it to load.

I couldn't surf better than the Kraken, so I don't know what's further than that.

Maybe a longer development time would have allowed you to test the enemies first.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]