Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ben Eath the Surf Ace

by mr_tag - Jam Entry

Ben Eath is an ex Surf Ace trying his big comeback. This dude is so f*ing COOL he even can control the waves!

How HIGH can you get? Be careful though: when you come back down and hit the waves again you should not be in the middle of a trick and your board has to be more or less horizontal to get the points!

Made in unity by Christoph (programming), Tobi (art), Dominik (programming), Patrick (art) and Patrick (sounds&music).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#94Graphics(Jam)4.20
#94Humor(Jam)3.51
#168Audio(Jam)3.51
#181Overall(Jam)3.50
#195Fun(Jam)3.29
#196Mood(Jam)3.46
#261Innovation(Jam)3.27
#271Theme(Jam)3.36

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

I nearly make an orbit - good game ;)

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

graphics are very good, especially the waves :-) I didn't really get the controls right: sometimes I jumped hundreds of meters high, sometimes only half a meter or so.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Another Surf Ace game? How can I say no!

Pretty fun! No idea how I'm supposed to make a good wave, but I got to a height of like 300 so there's that :P

Nice audio and graphics, too.

Overall, I'd give it a rating of: Gnarly!

Catmoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Really nice play on the theme and quite fun to play, plus looks awesome.

Woulda liked more tricks but of course we all have time constraints ;)

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Pretty fun, no matter what I did I didn't seem to be scoring anything, and the physics & controls were a bit fiddly.
Other than that, nice game.

cirpig29 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

A very nice Game and a very very great interpretation of the Ludum-theme. Unfortunately I did not understand how to get any points (may be I play to seldom games).

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

AWESOME! Fun game, good graphics, creative use of the theme. I loved it!!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Great game ! I love the gameplay ant the graphics ! It's a really fun entry, I enjoyed it a lot :) Amazing job for less than 2 days ;)

João Kucera says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Awesome graphics!

SimonLarsen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Really great job. The wave mechanic is a lot of fun and getting mad air time feels great. The announcer was a bit jarring though.

Overall really cool. And thanks for providing a Linux binary. It worked flawlessly (Arch Linux x86)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Pretty fun, but the control was a little difficult with keyboard

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30am

2010 points

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31am

Radical game! I'm into the art style for sure, gameplay felt a bit slow at times though. I was using a keyboard, though, I might give it another go with a controller later.

lord says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:17am

Awesome. You made the same pun as us!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Great game! Also it's pretty funny :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Haha I like how you used the theme, really nice idea! The graphisms are cool, the music too, I enjoyed it a lot! :]

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

This owns

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Had trouble mastering the controls, but did pull of a few tricks. I really liked the animation of the character and the waves. The idea was great, and the game felt polished.

dejant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Nice graphics!

Snowflower says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21pm

very cool, love the name of the game haha.
It took me a few playthroughs to get the hang of making waves to get a ton of air and score points.

BrothersT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59am

haha. had to check out one of these surf ace games and I wasn't dissapointed. didn't quite get exactly what up and down did to the waves. if anything it seemed like they were the wrong way round. nice game!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:28am

Nice theme interpretation. Looks pretty cool. I sucked at the game but it was pretty amusing

ande765a says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Nice game! Had a great time playing it :)

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:34am

liked it. It was hard for me to combo the jumps :)
gj

May 3, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Very well done. Looks quite polished and was pretty fun to play too.

Lyje says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Found it quite hard to do the tricks in time! Love the theme though :P

MrBlade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Really fun an interesting game. The sounds are nice, art is good, and the gameplay is solid. I really liked seeing my waves being created as I made them. I found this game hard to play with a keyboard, but it was quite fun and easy with a controller. Good work!

radmars says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Awesome! Reminds me of Skate or California Games :D

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:40pm

This game made me rage quit ...
I failed hard to get any points. Loopings didn't brings score and when doing a trick using 1, 2 or 3 he didn't get back on board.

I'm sure it is cool once you get the hang out of it and I really like graphics and sound, but otherwise it just is frustrating.

recursor says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I never could get any points. Still, it was pretty fun. Nice job.

May 11, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Really fun game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:51am

fun game but I never get a score - awesome game - adding to my foavorites

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]