Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Villages

by GAFBlizzard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a very simple game about finding buried artifacts.


Initial project source code submission: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21575115/ld29/bliz_ld29_project_source_initial.zip

Source code correcting a missing animation change in the cutscene (the web version includes this fix, made after the jam deadline):
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21575115/ld29/bliz_ld29_project_source.zip

Additional resource projects (sound, graphics etc.): https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21575115/ld29/bliz_ld29_resource_projects.zip

Game and original content are copyright 2014 AgentElrond / GAFBlizzard. Open-source content is copyright as described in the project zip's README.TXT file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#235Theme3.63
#381Audio3.03
#585Humor2.40
#730Innovation2.83
#814Graphics2.77
#888Mood2.62
#895Overall2.83
#955Fun2.54

Comments

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17am

I like the sound effects and the sense of progression but it feels a little tedious even with holding spacebar. Considering there is a fair amount of art and you managed to have an ending condition... good job overall :)

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

It's clean and works, which is a lot for an LD! The main problem I have is that there's no limit on digging, so you can just dig everywhere and ignore the radar. Also, things you've already dug up still trigger the radar, which can become confusing when there's one left.

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

A fun minesweeper-like variation. I really like the metal detector mechanic. Gets a little boring, but it is very rewarding when you get one quickly without having to hunt around too much.

Flopster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04am

As others have mentioned, you can press spacebar and walk around, and it will dig up the whole ground without any penalty. Overall the game is playable and works fairly well.

noom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

I really liked the concept and the mechanics, but it was missing a challenge, there was nothing stopping me digging every tile, I wasn't racing a clock, or trying to avoid anything, I could just dig dig dig and finish the level. Aside from that though, I thought this had a lot of potential.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

Pretty good idea overall

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

Thanks for the comments. It is tedious and without challenge -- originally I planned a "par" mechanism and some other things that would add variety. The auto-dig was more to avoid so much clicking. Unfortunately I was too slow and just tried to get everything smooth by the deadline, cutting out what I did not finish.

pythong says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42am

As noom said, there is unfortunately no challenge in this game when you just press space and ignore the radar. Also, you load the next level a bit too early, beacause you can't see the last artifact.
An enemy which haunts you, or a limit to the number of digs would have changed a lot ;)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:51am

Not sure why you added the mouse click to dig, could have just done that with a key (makes it easier to play I think). Love that the game starts with an intro animation, simple but adds a lot :)

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15am

It's fun for a little while, which is good providing the time scope of this project! :)

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16am

Well made, looks nice, sounds nice. Needs some chance of losing though, without that its hard to enjoy a game like this.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Short and sweet, I thought it was more of a feature than a bug that the detector kept beeping around the items you already found. It would've been too easy if it didn't!

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

5:47/126 - I figured out how to find things without excavating a whole region near the end of the game. :|

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:13am

It was a good idea to have some kind of radar to find "treasures", love the intro too :)

zzForrest says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:16am

It's pretty good, and it's an interesting mechanic. I don't like that the metal detector still triggers near already dug-up artifacts, and that sometimes they spawn in clusters, but otherwise well done. Also, love the opening sequence.

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Good to see a finished game, but thought it was too simple. Is time the only challenge?

cardboard says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:14am

Neat-o. The game mechanic is nice, but could use a bit of polishing. I found that objects very close were hard to find since the found objects still trigger the beeps. Once I figured out how the game worked it was fun. The background art could be better, but I like all the sprites. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]