Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cull Shot

by halogenica - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About the game:
---------------
Shoot a CULL SHOT to reveal enemy cubes.
Capture the cubes to increase the time limit.
Stay alive as long as possible.

XBOX Controller:
Rotate with left stick
Charge shot by holding A
Shoot by releasing A
Capture by pressing X when shot is over cube

PS3 Controller:
Rotate with left stick
Charge shot by holding X
Shoot by releasing X
Capture by pressing "Square" when shot is over cube

Keyboard:
Rotate with arrow keys
Charge shot by holding space
Shoot by releasing space
Capture by pressing S when shot is over cube

Extra Controls:
F to fullscreen
M to mute music

XBOX (windows) or PS3 (mac) controller recommended


A game by Michael Romero
Made for Ludum Dare 29
http://halogenica.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#27Innovation4.18
#140Overall3.70
#166Audio3.46
#167Graphics3.85
#281Fun3.38
#299Theme3.56
#639Mood2.90
#972Humor1.81

Comments

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

I sense a winner here

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14am

Very strange

enosshenk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28am

I would really really like this if the controls were a bit more responsive. Overall though it's a really neat concept, and fun except for the control issues.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42am

Wow. This game is really well-polished and fun! Well done! Love the art style, too.

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43am

a game that works with a controller.. and no linux support. sad panda here. the video looks good, love the effects

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44am

Fantastic game and great use of the theme.

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55am

Gameplay Video looked awesome!

StudioWolfox says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Looks cool! Cool animations and was fun! It is a nice game mechanic. I saw it a year ago too with some other jam but in a multiplayer form. Like it

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11pm

now, that's a brilhant interpretation of the theme. Very good!

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Very unique. I like the idea a lot.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:02am

Wow, one of the most polished games i've come across, really well done! Love the crazy soundtrack :)

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03am

Very nice and challenging gameplay. Could play it for hours. Thank you for that game.

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:52am

Wow that was awesome! Nice job!

KirbiKaka says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:08am

Wow this game is awesome :D! Both the take on the theme and polish are absolutely amazing! I loved watching the little arrows that surround your shooter point to the boxes.

I feel like I would have enjoyed the game a little more on an XBox controller only because turning left and right (clockwise and counterclockwise) got to be a little confusing on the keyboard.

I think one small detail I personally would have liked, would be a little bar or marker that would show you about how far your shot would go. This is really a personal preference, but I had a hard time estimating how far and fast my shot would fire. This meant I spent more time wrestling with the controls than trying to figure out where the cubes were. (Though maybe that's the point :b) Actually, a bar or marker wouldn't even be necessary, I think all I would need is a clear way of knowing when a shot was fully charged (that way I would be able to kind of "figure out" how much to charge to get a certain distance). Maybe there was a way to tell, I might not have seen it among the screen shake. At least when I played, I was kind of taking shots in the dark (ha-ha) as to how long to charge, even if I was pretty sure I knew where the cube was.

The game is absolutely great though! The simple design and the polish is absolutely amazing, especially for a 48 hour compo entry. 5 stars :D!

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:17am

An unique take on the theme. I like it.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:38am

Took me a while to figure out how to use the arrows inside the circle, but once I did, it was a nicely balanced game.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:41am

Very nice (and innovative) game mechanic. Although it was a little hard to get the grasp of it(partly because there is so few cubes in so much space), it was fun to play with it.
Graphics and audio were good too. Great entry!

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:39am

Very cool concept, awesome music, and nice game. Very original

Muciojad says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Wow, my eyes :o Very cool you use theme, game is simple but gameplay is polished ;] Good work, I wish you good luck!

May 3, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Really interesting game and nice take on the theme. Good graphics and music. I particularly like the effects on the cubes. Really slick.

shasharala says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:40pm

While it took a few moments to realize exactly what was going on, once I did, and understood the UI the game was a seamless experience.

Benjamin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:12am

The capture mechanic is fun. I think you shold not allow those very slow cull shot that stand in your base, maybe add a minimum cooldown + minimum range. I would have loved some upgrade system ( cull shot range, cull shot view area, better radar etc )

Tuism says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:50am

Thumping track! Very interesting idea! The jitteryness of things makes it feel a bit odd, that's the aesthetic! I really enjoy it except for the controls. Could really be taken further! Good stuff!

Waterman7 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Really innovative concept. And well polished too, good job!

louis.denizet says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:54am

Nice concept, that would make a great game =)
Great job in 48h!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:03am

Excellent! I love the shots that reveal a cube but are too fast to be able to catch it. It forces you to predict its movement and try a precise shot next. I played for a while until I got 1:06.

Managore says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:06am

This is one of those games which you can keep playing until your peripheral vision disappears and the whole world shrinks to just you, a gun and an endless supply of cubes. What a fantastic game!

(My best time after a few goes was 4:16)

jaxonf92 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:53am

That is so cool

Oye Beto says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:42am

It crashed 2 times after playing for some time but it's ok, I played long enough to enjoy it. I'm running windows 7 and played with an xbox wireless controller if it helps.

It was very fun and the mechanic is original.
Music was a little repetitive.
Graphics are minimalist but they look really good, specially the 3D red cubes rendered as 2D coming from one dimension to another.

angelk says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:33am

Thanks a lot for letting me know about the crash. I think it's a problem with creating OpenAL sources, it's very difficult to catch during the crash but I saw it once. I wasn't able to figure out why the audio source failed to create, but I should just be better about reusing the sources anyway :) Thanks for playing!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]