Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Without a Paddle

by namuol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Who needs a paddle when you have a spear?

WASD/Arrow Keys to move.
Mouse to aim/shoot.

Hold still to aim steady.

POST YOUR BEST SCORE (if you want)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#113Fun3.68
#147Overall3.68
#149Humor3.29
#229Innovation3.55
#394Audio3.00
#406Mood3.16
#417Theme3.42
#608Graphics3.10

Comments

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43am

For some reason the boat animation made me laugh. Good job with this game.

wespaugh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Difficult game, but incredibly intuitive and the controls feel great.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11pm

ha this game felt pretty smooth, i enjoyed throwing my spear at these sharksss

bazld says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Very nice game. Theres more to it than meets the eye, the control of the boat and spear are not the simple approach you might expect.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

this game is really hard! its done well though. nice work!

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Simple and polished, well done. Love the punchy sound effects!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:04am

This game feels great. It was a joy to play! I speared three sharks at once!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07am

It's got some nice graphics and sounds! The aiming mechanic gives it an awesome gameplay, and the spear gives it some extra points on humor!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07am

19150. Super simple concept that was surprisingly addicting. Spearing 4 sharks at once was one of the most rewarding things I've done all night. Thanks!

Switchbreak says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:43am

Nice work! I got 4250. I love the way the boat moves clumsily, like a boat would.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:47am

Nice job! Perhaps another spear or two! While the waves are nice, I don't know if they really can be use in lou (get it?) of music. Great job!

ix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:14am

18700, thanks to a lucky spear of a stack of sharks. Great mechanics in here. The slosh-y aiming feels just about right.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:50am

Nice entry! The gameplay is solid, I really liked the way the crosshair wobble when you move, nice way to enforce strategy. It's addictive, though I'm not very good (my highscore for now is 8000).

Did you use any game engine?

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:26am

@Marcos Rodrigues: I used my own JS/HTML5 game framework called Combo. It's not released yet, and I plan on selling it.

If you're into JS gamedev, send me your email and I'll hook you up with a key for free when a beta is ready. :)

tomvert says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:11am

Good gameplay, making combo was really rewarding, I managed to make a shark/fish combo (wich could be rewarded differantly bu the way). Anyway keep it up :)

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:43am

Simple, effective and fun! I liked the aiming/movement link up.

01010111 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Love this entry - the movement was really smooth, and the animation was goofy. Wish I could aim and shoot through fish though.

namuol says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:54am

@01010111 -- Not sure what you mean; you _can_ aim and shoot through fish. Do you mean hit all the ones in the line the spear follows?

namuol says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:47am

Just scored 300,000+ points. The secret was landing 2 10xShark spear combos, and another 9xShark combo... heh. The game's a little too "easy" to play indefinitely, actually. No real difficulty ramp-up. Maybe I'll do that for the post-compo version..

mrbungle says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Digging the simplistic graphical style and the animations are cool. The sense of everything wobbling about is a really nice touch.

littleball says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Sweet little game! Getting a double catch is so satisfying. I love the simple graphics too.

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Feels very polished for such a short time. Love that your aim gets more and more erratic the further out from the boat you throw. Floating feels relaxing.

Jacic says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:06pm

I loved how movement made my aim wobble across the whole screen. :p Great work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]