Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hare's Harvest

by mtrc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hare is hungry. Help Hare harvest Farmer's carrots - but don't get caught by him, Dog or Fox on the surface...

----------
CONTROLS
----------

Arrow Keys - Move
R - Restart Level

----------
THIS GAME
----------
Made with HaxeFlixel for an engine, Pixen for art and Bosca Ceoil for music. Sound effects were recorded at home - thanks to the local birds and judicious chomping of some cucumber. I hope you enjoy the sounds :)

I tried to focus hard on the audio and visuals this time. More little animations, more music, more focus on building a soundscape. I hope it pays off - leave me any thoughts or criticisms in the comments!

Say hi - mike@cutgar.net
More from me on Twitter - @mtrc
More games by me, including past Ludum Dares at

http://www.cutgar.net/games
http://cutgarnetgames.itch.io

-------------
COMING SOON
-------------

I'm working on downloadable versions. Let me know if you have any technical issues in the comments, I'll try and fix them ASAP and let you know!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#48Fun3.90
#78Overall3.87
#110Audio3.62
#147Theme3.77
#165Humor3.25
#276Mood3.34
#295Innovation3.45
#319Graphics3.56

Comments

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

Fun game, cool artwork. Nice job.

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

A fun 8-bit style game, cute idea with a nice story and thoughtful game mechanics and level design. A good effort on that front for 48 hours!

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59am

Loved the amount of content you were able to add. The puzzles were fun to figure out. Cool burrowing mechanic. I didn't like having to count my moves though.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13am

Lots of fun! I loved how it kept mixing it up: really smiling once the hunters and foxes are on the same map.!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

Very engaging difficulty on the levels, not too easy and always a new mechanic on every stage, that really impressed me! great work!

zaratustra says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07am

Nice combination of puzzle elements. I think that, since the player's movement is relatively slow, you could go with repeated-movement-on-key-down.

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15am

Thanks everyone! Everyone's comments are really kind.

Shire: You're right, move-counting was not ideal. I didn't want to do straight timing because I felt that was weird to do in the context of a turn-based game, but move counting isn't great either (back and forth waiting sucks).

zara: You're right. Someone mentioned this on Newgrounds too. I had some issues with things moving while tweens were completing, and to simplify it I just had the controls take single inputs and have things stop between turns. The game's a bit slower as a result unfortunately.

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

Loved it! Great overall aesthetic and gameplay (levels were all pretty easy until the end though).

Obvious complaint (which it seems like everyone shares) is the "not walking when holding down arrow keys", though I'm sure you see that enough.

Corny midi music also fits!

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

I really enjoyed it. You could improve the input a bit but allowing players to hold the key (instead of pressing) and firing the movement event every second or so. But good job! :)

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

Thanks for the feedback both of you! The levels were a bit easy in my opinion as well. It was tough to work out mechanics that synergised in such a short timescale, but I am getting better at it (I think). This is a problem I had in previous Ludum Dare's too!

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07am

Omygosh dat sound XD. Anyway.. I really like this one!

ezolotko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

Great.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43am

much more levels and mechanics than i anticipated. fun little game!

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45am

Wow. I really enjoyed the puzzle mechanics here and there were a LOT of them and they were combined to a great effect! The little animations and the audio definitely helped to seal the deal too.

madflame991 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:46am

+ cute concept
+ fun puzzles and story
+ good take on the theme

Zutty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:51am

I recognised this game from screenshotsaturday.com! Some very clever puzzles and the sound effects & music are great.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52am

Really great puzzle game; I had to stop and think though a few of the levels because they looked easy but were not once I got started. Also, the audio was good and very appropriate to the game (the music reminded me of old sound blaster 16 midi music).

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Charming little game, from artwork to music.

The tiles are a bit too repetitive and the sprite animation for hopping could have been maybe a little bit more ample, but great game nevertheless!

Loved how clever the level design was.

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Thanks everyone for playing it and taking the time to comment!

raulincze: Yeah, the sprites were the one thing I wanted to go back to and didn't quite manage. I was worried if I updated some of the sets it might look even less consistent. It's a shame, I've just started doing autotiling in my other projects!

caranha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Wow, the sound for this game was pretty fantastic. The individual tunes are simple, but they give a very distinctive personality to the NPCs and environments. I loved Dog's music! :-)

I was a bit annoyed that I had to press a key over and over. I get it that you wanted this to be a turn-based game, but a way for the key-press to auto-repeat would be welcome, I think.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

This game was really fun. I like how you used the theme :)

Graphics were great, however, I wish there was a frame for the rabbit facing downwards. Just a nit-picky detail, if you plan to continue development later.

Nice job :D

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:38pm

There is a lot of content in this game. I like it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Super fun game! Only thing I thought was maybe have a bullet when the farmer shoots?

tomc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Wow, that was fun! Clever puzzles. And the audio was really nice.

Colthor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Made me grin. Amazing what you got done in 48 hours - and all of it really well.

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58am

BEAT IT!!! Great job, really satisfying main mechanic, really nice audio, and amazing amounts of content:) I will admit it took a minute for me to figure out it was turn based, but thats likely my fault;) I also noticed, that you can die and win on the same move, allowing you to continue, but that dosn't really matter [Really Nice!:)]

jsmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Great job! Probably the best use of theme of the games I've seen so far. This was a really fun little game. Great pace and puzzles. I think it would have been nice if holding controls would keep going in that direction with a 100ms delay or something. Btw I beat the last level without using any of the holes on the right side :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56pm

jsmars: Whoa, really? That's amazing! I did not think that was possible.

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Excellent sense of progression, new elements are introduced in a really gradual way, and the consequences of the new elements are expounded upon well, although you probably could have done even more with them (I'm guessing you were limited by time in that regard). My only negative comments are that it's a bit hard to tell the difference between stomped and un-stomped burrows, and it's possible to exploit the dogs on the last level to avoid the stomped burrows entirely. Still, really great!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Very good game. I'm impressed with how easy and fun this is!

01010111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Awesome work! I love the roguelike movement mixed with puzzle gameplay - only thing I would suggest is maybe faster movement, I was impatient pressing the arrow keys :)

grozamorei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Good game.
Key press for move continue do not work.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20am

i was able to reach the part with the dogs, but then it just got boring. Well I just got bored. Like the graphics and I'll give the music a 4. Good job on your entry.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I like these types of puzzle games a lot, Nice job!

sharpcoder says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice job. You had a lot of levels, which is impressive for only 48 hours. And I like how it keeps escalating. Well done!

cavf88 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Great level design. Fun puzzler.

Pixelulsar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:09am

Cool game, I always like there types of turn based games. I didn't mind not being able to hold down the key like a few others said, it's fine for a turn based games.

fullmontis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:32am

Interesting use of the theme! Gameplay is challenging and interesting.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:37am

What a pleasant game, loved the simplicity of it.
I was really enjoying it until the game locked when I pressed space instead of pressing R to restart on a game over screen. But I'll definitely play the rest later.

garygreen says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:35am

Nice puzzler - some original ideas there. Cute graphics too.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:58am

I might try to make a simple puzzle game like this for one of my next games. I felt like a lot of my time (what little I had after dealing with homework) got eaten up by my obnoxious jumping/collision detection bugs, and a couple LD's back it was physics glitches that took up a lot of time too. With a game like this I could spend more time focused on graphics and level design, which I haven't had much of a chance to work on as of yet.

But back to your game: I enjoyed it. Felt a tad short, and I think it was easier than your past couple LD's, but not bad at all. Last level took me a little bit to figure out.

My only issue soundwise was that the game seemed extremely quiet. I had to ramp up the volume on my speakers quite a bit to hear anything, but when I did, everything sounded great (for whatever reason, the movement sound while underground particularly caught my ear). As far as visuals go, everything looked good but nothing especially caught my eye.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Whoa, nice level design! Cool use of the fox and hunter, i loved traping the fox in the unter sight!

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Great game! Nice mood, nice theme using. Played for a long time. Love it.

DonovanWu says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:42am

Very innovative game! And it is sort of intellectual challenging to play (and hence must be intellectual challenging to design). It reminds me of a Chinese saying, that a cunning hare makes three burrows (狡兔三窟).

jsspiegel says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Really charming little game, and a fantastic puzzle mechanic. Art and music are great too :) Time to go try Angelina's entry!

Candyhandy says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:57am

Very fun game.

gapgen says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:14pm

A fun little game! I have this image of you scarfing carrots in the name of game dev.

rojo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:56am

Well done puzzler. Graphics and audio were good. My main complaint would be that I couldn't hold down the arrow keys to move.

sorceress says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:20am

completed, and it was enjoyable. Movement felt a little sluggish though. I'd like to be able to move quicker.

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:06am

Very fun game, I was quite impressed how you kept adding mechanics to keep the game fresh.

May 10, 2014 @ 1:25am

Cute, fun game. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mAtRG2njZHE

Draknek says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Already been mentioned, but this would feel waaay better if I could hold a key down to keep moving in that direction.

Levels could be smaller to demonstrate the concepts: found particularly with the "farmer will shoot foxes" level and thereafter

Restart fade is really long

As with all puzzle games, could do with undo :)

Not finding the puzzles interesting yet (got to "dogs can't chase into burrows") - rather than introducing the gameplay elements all at the start, what I'd prefer is introducing one gameplay thing, then having a bunch of puzzles using that thing (and maybe previous things) that show why that thing is an interesting mechanic.

In other words: these early levels are all tutorial, no fun :(

Ugh, this level being in two parts with no undo means screwing up the latter half means having to redo the first half, which is awkward because of controls. I'm out!

Graphics are lovely though :)

xhunterko says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:11am

This is great!

Aaronb1215 says ...
Apr 5, 2015 @ 1:13am

Adored it. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]