Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Forgotten Sea

by Incredible Ape - Jam Entry

It's not finished, but it has a nice vibe. Try playing in cinematic mode and checking out the atmosphere.

Levels are procedurally generated, and they are endless.

Josh Schonstal / Ian Brock / Guerin McMurry

Controls:
WSAD - Move
Space - Dash
Mouse - Aim/Shoot
0 - Mute
+/- - Volume

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#28Graphics(Jam)4.53
#40Audio(Jam)4.00
#69Mood(Jam)3.88
#273Overall(Jam)3.36
#464Humor(Jam)2.33
#505Fun(Jam)2.75
#605Theme(Jam)2.63
#615Innovation(Jam)2.46
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

The little guy is super cute. Nice dungeons, a little more instruction would be nice and some additional interactions.

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42am

Wow, very pretty

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:57am

The graphics and sound are perfect. I'm very impressed. The only issue I have is that the game seems to be sorely lacking in mechanics beyond the one present. I kept hoping to at least see torches being placed across a gap from where the player can access, or some place to reflect shots off of. Still, the polish wins over my vote.

baboum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

So the game never ends, does it? I really like the mood, it plays very smoothly (but I struggled with my azerty keyboard), and music&graphics are perfect. Like the comments above me, it would have been nice to see game mechanics evolve through time, but what you did is already pretty impressive! Good job!

KeyMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Incredible sound, graphics and atmosphere! Really nice and calming :)

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Not sure how it fits in the theme (especially since you're above the sea), but the art is top notch and the effects are great (the water looks great). Would be a great exploration-focused game if there was more to see and do. The dash mechanic stopping your momentum is a pain, it would have made movement more fluid if it didn't do that.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55pm

@stvr: You're supposed to be in ruins inside deep oceanic cave, descending. It is not easy to convey that when you have a perspective that doesn't show the ceiling, but we tried our best with other clues.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Awesome graphics and audio :D

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03pm

The music and graphics are great. Good use of screen shake too. Great entry,

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:17pm

@VDOgames: Nice suggestion. Incorporating puzzle elements into the procedural level generation algorithm would be a fun challenge.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Great atmosphere/mood. Visually fantastic and that big ball feels real heavy 'cause of the effects. Which is nice. Good job, wonder what this will grow up to be.

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Aw, wish you guys had finished this cause it looks/sounds/feels really cool.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:32am

There's not enough variety for the game to remain interesting beyond one or two levels, but saying it has a nice vibe is an understatement. So serene.

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:04am

Graphics/Controls/Music are really great.
Would have liked to have seen a bit more progression in the mechanics, but otherwise it's perfect.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:17am

Excellent mood, graphics and audio from Incredible Ape as usual :)

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:23pm

It feels nice an polished - solid art and sound. Seems like it could be a good game if it was expanded further.

01010111 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Phenomenal atmosphere! VERY cool camera and game play, wish there was a bit more to do, but otherwise, super cool entry!

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Hi. love the visuals, shame not more content. Enjoyed running round lighting, er, something, with my, er blobby plasma gun (nice effect that gunfire)

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Cool ambience, nice art, peaceful atmosphere, i like it, feal like a "that game company" game.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Very cute graphics, smooth control and calm ambient music. So lovely. Hope, you'll finish it. You need to do this for the goodness!

It'll be great if you'll take a look at those proposals:
1) Player is moving little bit slow.
2) I missed progress information somewhere.

I'll follow.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:19pm

It seems like it could be a great Zelda-type game if there were actual enemies. GREAT vibe, though, with good graphics and beautiful music.

Also not sure how this fits the theme, but it's still cool.

Candyhandy says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Really pretty graphics and smooth animations.

Raiyumi says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:24am

I really love the atmosphere and ambient music. The graphics are lovely too. I just wish there was more variety in gameplay and an improved dash without that "lock" at the end.

kiririn51 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:16am

I'm actually quite jealous because this is what my game would've been if I had more than a day to complete it ><

Sometimes, games are better when they involve simplistic goals and are just about the experience and atmosphere, this one nails perfectly that, one of my favourites right here!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]