Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Elementities

by Helco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Elementities is a game about going deeper into cave, fighting against others with your small Elementities,
creatures which you train like pets, just for fighting and not for sitting and staying.
And why? To get rich and famous, that's why!A crazy mix between Rogue, Pokemon, Zanzarah, maybe even Binding of Isaac.
Thanks to emscripten you can play it in your favorite browser or download it for windows.

[Controls]
[^][v][<][>] - Movement
[Space] - Fire
[1]-[5] - Switch Elementity
[Enter] - Menu
[H] - Open/Close Encyclopedia

As you can check here https://github.com/Helco/Elementities/commit/186156195a7d76cbbaea9dd9df46457211d40fed I fixed two small bugs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#535Innovation3.09
#680Fun2.88
#775Overall2.95
#793Humor2.12
#972Mood2.51
#972Graphics2.52
#1064Audio1.22
#1223Theme1.91

Comments

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:33am

interesting "final fantasy-esq" battles

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Really liked this.

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:20am

This really felt like Pokemon to me, I liked it.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48am

i love this style of game. its pretty hard, i lost twice to the first guy . well done though

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50am

cool!!! I the gameplay.

plugz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50am

Your game is very distinctive. I like it!

qntnm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52am

This style is wonderful, and the combat is super fun and challenging. Great job!

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20am

Awesome game. I loved everything about it except perhaps the combat. I think it would have been better if the combat space was smaller. It took forever to get shots on him.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice text game. But i found some bug. AI can select for battle already killed enemies. At this moment enemy disappears(because it's dead?) but it shoots

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Nice style! Very creative

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Very fun game. Love strategy games. The combat was extremely hard.

garygreen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

I really enjoyed playing this and the ascii graphic style worked well. The only suggestion I have is that maybe the battle/fight spaces could have been varied.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

Really interesting, the concept is really cool and I love the fights.
After defeating one enemy, I ended up fighting myself (or someone with the exact same name), bug or feature?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56am

Combat was a little too tricky to hit the opponent, but wouldn't say it was too difficult to win. I really liked the content and the idea. Good job

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

It has been a long time since I played an ASCII game, it worked really well great job!

halfmage says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00pm

pretty good job! well done

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Not much ascii games here! Thanks for this one! :)

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:35pm

I really like your style this game is really challenging. I wish I had more time to play it and will definitely come back after voting is over.

ArthurMaker says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:24am

Pretty good...

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:26pm

It really has a Pokemon-like feeling to it. However, the battles were not very entertaining ; it seemed the enemy was moving at random and only shot me because I was trying to line up with him to shoot him, which proved to be quite hard. I felt like the enemy's "keyboard" was more responsive than mine :S .
The randomness of levels and elementities was also a nice touch.

poxpoxpox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:46am

The combat could be a little bit easier. Love the ascii :)

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:11am

Very cool. The fighting was very difficult for me though. I could not get past the first enemy ;) But I had fun. And I really like ASCII art!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Ok, this is really polished.. only thing that bothered me is that combat sometimes take forever.. Good job overall :)

May 10, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Simple game, but well done! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/LetpuBbjABA

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]