Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Deep

by someone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Search for treasure beneath the waves.

You can carry up to 10 treasures. Return to the surface to deposit them in the bank. The deeper you go the more treasures are worth, but beware of the creatures in the depths.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#116Theme3.83
#157Audio3.48
#231Overall3.55
#269Graphics3.63
#305Fun3.35
#332Mood3.25
#691Humor2.25
#730Innovation2.83

Comments

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

My first moment of confusion was from running into fish and losing health, I think that could be stated but is also pretty easily figured out. it's also kind of difficult to find your way back to the top of the level.

Galan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:35am

Pretty cool! Seems like the kind of game someone could just zone out and relax with.

Really like how it gets darker as you dive deeper, too. Great way to increase the risk/reward ratio.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:37am

I think this could use a mini-map of some sort, its easy to get lost on the way back up, though I really like how the more dangerous creatures actively chase you.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Loading was so slow but it was worth the wait! Really nice idea and execution.
Maybe, for a follow up, you could make the player spend his money in upgrades (better hull, faster, harpoon to kill fishes, bigger lights....)

thaaks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Nice little game! As already mentioned a mini map would be nice. I like the graphics of the stones and sharks. The little red fish and the sub are not as beautiful as the rest (IMHO).
The darkness and the glow are great for the mood.

May 1, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Controls felt very fluid and natural. I loved the risk-reward feeling of going deeper to get valuable treasures, but risking the encounter of more enemies.

Audio was very nice as well, but graphics could use some work though.

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I really liked this game. I loved how it got darker the lower you went. I also loved going so far down that I got killed by one of those really scary angler fish!

Great work. :)

tenpn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:24pm

I vote against a minimap! You just have to remember! Now you're alive by the slender thread of memory as well as light.

I liked how jelly fish were decoys in the deep darkness.

May 2, 2014 @ 2:21am

Excelent entry! The controls are extremely fluid, and the overall mood is great. I'd only suggest you to fade the music out as the player dive deeper, as to give a more frightening feeling. It's already very scary! I didn't found any huge monster, but I kept expecting one to eat me at once!

May 3, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Nice lighting. It actually seemed tougher to me higher up because like a THOUSAND of those red fish would spawn higher up. Well done though! Very fun game.

pkenney says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Very cool how it got darker the deeper you went, so it was up to you how difficult you dared to make it! And better not forget about that return trip.

I also thought it was an interesting choice to make the enemy hits continue throughout contact. That way instead of saying "oops I got hit" like you do in a lot of games, you say "oh no I *AM* getting hit I better run for it!"

Nice work.

Draknek says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Not a fan of the way that fish hurt you but don't collide with you in any way. Think it would feel a lot better if they pushed you around ever so slightly depending on their size.

Would also like to get rid of most of the numbers: if you had a health bar rather than numbers, and if you could see the number of treasure chests being dragged behind you. Probably do need to keep a number for score though.

It's very awkward how dying reduces your score as opposed to reseting it to zero. Weird situation where if my score goes negative then the best thing to do is to reload the page. Doesn't add anything.

Music very unsettling.

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:16am

There could be some kind of collision with the fish. If you touch a fish and just let it sitting there you are done in seconds. Like @Draknek said, a health bar would help instead of numbers (I had no clue where my HP was in the first moments of gameplay). On the other hand, the game mechanics are very nice! The process of getting darker as you go deeper is very cool

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:53pm

A fun game! The sprites look nice too. I do like how it gets darker the deeper you go

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]