Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SubmaRuins

by pirate-rob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game about ruins. Moving slowly under the ocean. Blasting the heck out of each other with cannons.

Hope you have fun!
Influenced heavily by Ftl.
Music from abundant-music.com.

Initial Bugfix ChangeLog:
Hopefully fixed link objects from breaking.
Aligned the tutorial ruin so it's better to build on.
Fixed alignment circles not appearing.
Heavily upgraded ship optimization i.e. fixed lag.
Fixed pump also acting as a lever.
Fixed bubble rocks not spawning on certain ships.
Made tutorial text white so you can actually read it.
Fixed lever's not properly toggling doors.
Fixed workers refusing to enter broken structures.

Version 1.1:
V1.1:
- Bugfixes
- Doubled the health of plant walls (100->200)
- Tripled the health of metal walls (100->300)
- Made humans construct faster
- Made humans reduce cooldown on cannons faster
- Made Craman destroy things faster
- Nerfed Cannon damage by half (100->50)
- New drill bomb weapon (3 scrap)
-- Attaches to ships
-- Short range, slows down after a while
-- Does 20 contact damage
-- Does 30 damage a second while attached
-- Explodes after some time
-- Does 200~ damage at epicenter
- Added building help icons
- Added building panning
- Fixed AI so jobs aren't taken by everyone
- Fixed AI so levers are correctly pulled when needed
- Eelan added
-- 75Hp
-- Move faster in water than out
-- Drowns in too much air
-- Electrocutes enemies in water if there are no non-eel allies nearby
-- Strengthens engines
- Added fan
-- Replaces bubble rock in functionality
-- Reduces water, provides lift
-- Hurts workers
- Pulsors now damage blocks/workers in front of them when on
- All worker types now have different attacks
- Jellyfish workers(name undecided) added
-- 25Hp
-- Requires water to swim in
-- Breathes in water, can't get killed by suffocation
-- Regens health
-- Can't use medaby
-- Attacks with stun clouds (1 minute stun)
- Radar now displays stations as larger blips
- Added tanks
-- Can be open or closed as long as a worker is around or in it
-- Fills with water when closed
-- Main usage is too keep eelan and Jellyfish alive in air ruins
- Starting ruin can be selected
- Friendly ruins will attack if fired upon by other friendlies
(ie you can no longer sink allies with out consequence)
- Packs of Eelan boarders may be found occasionally
-- Will swim to nearest solid block and enter the ruin, destroying the block
-- Can be shot with cannons
- Added grates which let water in
-- Can be open and closed using a lever

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2022Coolness20%

Comments

uprightpath says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05am

Hard to play!

A better explanation of the various key commands would be VERY useful (Like that you can use WASD to turn on engines and the like).

pirate-rob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Yeah, I forgot to explain how to rotate objects in build mode. But I never really intended people use WSAD because it causes losts of confusion when controlling the Ruin. Use at your own risk :P

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40am

I didnt get quite past the tutorial, but it seems like a pretty cool game! I included your game in part 1 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/2Ja__FAtoAQ

barkergames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51pm

It takes a bit to understand how to play but once you do, it's very addicting! This is the only game so far that I have played that held my attention for longer than 10 mins. Then all of a sudden it was 2 hours later.

Great job, I would love to play a post compo version!

It was highly lacking in giving the user info, I didn't understand what the pumps were until my last 5 mins of playing. You should put names on the items that you can build so we know what they are/do.

I loved how you could take over other ships by boarding them.

Only problem I could see was when you took over a large ship then your build menu covered part of the ship, so you couldn't modify the top :(

I'm amazed at how much you got done in 48 hours!

Great job, by far my favorite so far :)

andymar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Great music and concept of the game. Enjoyed playing.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:51am

I liked the concept, It's hard to play though. Especially hunting other ruins.

May 5, 2014 @ 1:26pm

You need to tell people how to operate those machines. Aside from that, almost everything is great. I spend some time to understand what I can do, and then it's time to attack another ruins. Great game! :)

pirate-rob says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:15pm

It tells you in the tutorial how to operate things? Which machine are you talking about?
Thanks everyone ^^

klianc09 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:50pm

It appears to be really great game, but I just couldn't get into it because of the already mentioned control and usability problems.

It even took me a while until I understood how to use a switch. (Move a worker nearby, and THEN click on the switch). And the way switches work, makes it sometimes hard to open and close the doors you want when building something more complex.
Names + Descriptions in the shop would have really helped. As one can't memorize everything from one front-loaded tutorial. Tooltips would help with this.
Sadly I couldn't build a large ship, because gathering resources was quite tedious, for example having to micro-manage my crew to disassemble one of that large ships. I wish there was a simple "harvest all" button, which would make all the workers automatically disassemble the whole ship.
I quit after my ship got stuck inside another ship.
And yes, using WASD to move can sometimes be confusing.

All in all it's not a bad game, but all those small things add up, to hinder me from enjoying it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]