Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Get The Bone

by kasarun - Jam Entry

It's just a normal day, and you smell a tasty bone beneath the surface...


--


Better played with Chrome
Use arrow keys to move and dig



Our team composition :
Thomas Olivier - Code
Baptiste Olivier - Code
Charles Klipfel - Graphism

Code : JS with phaser.io
Graphism : PyxelEdit, Tiled
Font : Troika http://joelcarrouche.net/
Music : credit to LazyMuffin for the intro music, and alternativesolution for the main loop


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#44Humor(Jam)3.79
#55Theme(Jam)3.86
#106Fun(Jam)3.52
#145Overall(Jam)3.57
#177Innovation(Jam)3.43
#182Graphics(Jam)3.86
#222Audio(Jam)3.40
#246Mood(Jam)3.34

Comments

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Fun (and disturbing) idea! It's a little buggy, once you get down to the very bottom.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21pm

I love the way the dog looks, especially while he/she runs.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Great animation! Although. . . wuuuuuuuut ;)

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

This is great, I especially like the Tweet functionality!

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Very cool. I loved the animation and music!

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

Fun ... but with some "collision" bug.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Holy crap! Not spoiling but I really did not see that comming!
Maybe there are some collision problems and the bone permanence, but man, the concept, art and music are just great! Good work guys!

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Really nice game, I felt like just enjoying the sun and not digging at all but then the bombs came anyway :(

Love the dog animations.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16pm

It lags a bit sometimes with all the death and destruction and stuff, but it's fun!! :P

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Well now... That *is* just a normal day...!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Whyyyyyyy, whyyyyyyy is there no way to escape. I have two fluffy white shepherds. They're staring at me right now. WHYYYYYYY.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:39pm

such a simple idea that is so much fun and perfectly matches the theme wow.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:56pm

The music is very nice congrats ! And the game surprised me a lot !

yetanother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26pm

aaawww, poor dog :). nice and fun.

deathray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:12am

That dog definitely has his priorities wrong - getting bones when the world is being destroyed. It's pretty cute even though it's dark! (I got 661.)

May 1, 2014 @ 11:37am

animations are awesome, and WTF NUKES!!!

snooze82 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:45am

funny idea :D I like the music

Maniulo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Oh my god, why all the dog-and-bone-related games in this jam are so sad. Very addictive, though.

poxpoxpox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:43am

Poor little dog :(

But really nice dog-animation. And fun to play. Great work!

May 3, 2014 @ 1:07pm

dig, dig, dig.. boom WTF :)

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:29am

:O I did not see that coming! Gets sluggish at the bottom, and it doesn't seem like you can win, but still very unique.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:31am

What a great game, the art work and dog animation make me want to keep playing. Wish the dog could dig a little faster though, found it hard to avoid bombs sometimes.

Adrian says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:53am

Very fun, except for the bomb they totally ruin my digging ;-)

Simple graphism but it's really working great.
Just a minus for the background music, too classic for me.

AlexFili says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:41am

The dog is well animated and the graphics are nice. If it's a nice normal day, I don't know why there would be bombs dropping down but overall this is a good game and appealing in many ways.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]