Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dr. Brainwire

by snooze82 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

you are a doctor.
you can kill his/hers fears with by rewiring his/hers neurons and sending deadly impulses (they have rockets!!).

dr. brainwire is a puzzle game (maybe?)
trigger (neuron)-switches, fire impulses and find the right way to kill all fears.

notes:
has only 3 levels (shame on me)

This is my first LD48 - and my first game jam.
If you have suggestions, comments, questions: feel free to contact me:
@snooze82 - snooze82@gmail.com

I hope, you'll enjoy the game :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#309Innovation3.43
#441Humor2.59
#607Fun2.96
#620Audio2.64
#681Overall3.06
#879Graphics2.65
#881Theme2.85
#888Mood2.62

Comments

tschery says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:01pm

pretty neat idea and execution =)

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19am

Cool idea, pretty fun too. Got a little confusing later on with all of those pathways. Sometimes it was hard to tell what line the spider was on.

BigRat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

I will rate for Inovation and Fun but if you want to say to look beneath the brain i will understand.The only thing that's cool is that the point can shoot the spiders.

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12am

Quite good game, the rythm is a bit slow but the idea is good

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

The idea is really great, fun to click around. :)

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

Nice execution. Didn't take me long to learn to play at all. Only thing I noticed was because of the nature of the game, you already can usually tell what is going to happen. Then it's a little bit slow having to watch it actually happen, maybe it would have been a good idea to make the blasting away of 'fears' super fast? Good stuff.

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53am

Nice idea. To be continued.
I realize at the last level that I can switch path while running.
I think you have to find special nodes (multi directionals, reverse...).

Filecreation says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

A sure way to destroy your fear of spiders. Sign me up.
It was quite hard to figure out level 3, but after clicking around for a bit, I managed to complete it!

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Good concept.

phi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

I love the music. The sound effects almost destroy the mood. Your interpretation of the theme is great and the interface is very intuitive, though you could have worked more on the level design. Great start!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Neat ! The concept is awesome and well executed, you did a great job (especially for a first game jam) :D

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

This is a good concept! I like the background music and sound effects.

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Good idea, but we need more level ! :) I didn't finished the third :( too hard for me
I enjoyed the simple and clear music.

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Nice music and nice idea! Shame on you for making only three levels!

Also, I enjoyed to much killing the bloody spiders that I spammed the electric shock impulse generator. That kills the music aswell and replaces it by a electric sound and the smell of roasted spider in the air. sniiiiifff, ah! Lovely.

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35pm

coulnt rate the game when I first played it so here goes my rating =)

drnick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Is this game about me? :P The music is a bit generic, so do the spiders. Some of the spiders look like they lay on one neuron, but actually lay on another one. Still, it's a nice concept.

gre says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50am

Nice puzzle game! The take on the theme is subtile but works ;-)
Also very original.

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

Nice work, took a few tries to realise you can swap paths during running...

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Cool idea, I think it could be expanded to something really neat! Congrats!

MokuJin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Good Idea for the first LD.
Some difficulty to spot the spider on the path, but not for long.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Good game. The idea was really interesting.

gigitrix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I like how you can modify the pathways while it's in mid "flight". Interesting concept!

jomacel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:43am

Nice idea

May 2, 2014 @ 10:51am

Nice concept, though it's really too long to watch the red signal spreading, especially when you notice you've just made an error :)
For some spiders, we can't tell which wire they're on
Good game overall

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:39am

Pretty neat little puzzle game, but figuring out where to path the neurons is a lot of guesswork, as you can't tell what your options are just by looking at it.

NuSan says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:45am

Cool game, i like the puzzle idea. Keep up the good work.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:46pm

The concept is really interesting. Was fun!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]