Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under the Sea

by Luis Anton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lots of fun doing this one. From the five hours poured into the jellyfish sprite to recording audio for fx.

There are lots of creatures Under the Sea having fun. You know what I mean with fun. As in reproducing. Now Summer is coming and jellies are preparing a new invasion. Help them increase their numbers! Push same-color jellies together, but keep different-color jellies apart, or they'll fight to death.

You'll probably end up rage quitting, because things get out of hand when numbers raise. But it's fun for a while : ) Enjoy!

Note: I moved links from Dropbox to my own server. The source code is left in dropbox to prove it was there before the deadline ;D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#162Humor3.27
#356Mood3.21
#359Innovation3.36
#381Audio3.03
#440Fun3.14
#496Graphics3.25
#544Overall3.19
#545Theme3.28

Comments

Detocroix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

What is the number on top right? It stays zero on webplayer and I have no idea what it is. I would assume it should be score? :)

Managed to bang together 10 couples. Cool entry! I wish the crab was animated too! :D

Graf_Grun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13pm

The swipe mechanic is quite annoying when playing with a mouse, perhaps a two click method of: click-to-select-jelly + click-to-send-jelly-over-there would be a bit nicer. Otherwise, I found it amusing. My blues won...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Great job ! I really like the use of theme, graphics and audio are good and I had a lot of fun !

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20pm

The Windows version gives an error(Unable to load mono library from "C:/LD29/UnderTheSea_Win/UnderTheSea_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126).) But the web version worked fine(once I figured out how to move the damn fish =P) I really love your jellyfish sounds.

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

This is a really cute game, it did get a bit difficult a little too fast. But it was still a great entry.

okeedokeben says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27pm

The sounds are hilarious, and it looks great! Well done!

loxo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Good game! The time you invested in graphics and sound effects has paid off. I managed to get 2437 points with the web version. While playing I noticed two bugs. One time a jellyfish swam out of the water into the air and vanished at the top of the screen. The second bug occurred after using the retry button. Once mated, the jellyfish no longer move and can't be used to mate or fight with other jellyfish. After reloading the page the bug is gone, until starting a new round with the retry button again.

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Detocroix:, it's the score :m It should go up when jellies mate! (It does in my browser!) :m There's a bug, it should increase in 100s, but it works...

Seraphina: I didn't try the windows or mac version. I hoped it would work out of the box :(

Graf_Grun: you are right! I think I designed control with a touch interface in mind :)

Thanks for playing, in any case : )

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Just fixed the win version ;D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Nice concept! The sound of the jellyfish are pretty cute.

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04pm

I had problem how to pass intro screen..lol
Funny game!

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35pm

But you did, right? I feared the play button would be too plain X(

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Really nice! I agree with the comments about the controls being a bit awkward on mouse though. The jellyfish animation was definitely worth the work :)

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

At first I couldn't find the play button. Once I did I enjoyed the game, but controls with a mouse are difficult. Creative idea. Well done!

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15pm

fun game, with its own humor and very cute, but the control are not very good.

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:57am

nice idea, would be really fun on ipad. like Flight Control, but different enough.

Spotline says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45am

Nice game ! I had a bug though, were jellies reproducing didn't move afterwards, is that normal ?

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Guys, those are your kids, why you fighting!?
4025 was my highest score, I think :D

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Spotline: no, they should move! Sometimes the Unity plugin does weird things :m Try reloading please! :D A

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:16pm

The jellies are so adorable! Except when they try to pull each other eyes out! That's messy, because jellies don't have eyes... Congrats! :-)

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:25am

:D very funny one!

phi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:03pm

This is extremely fun. I love how they sometimes clump together and have an orgy of love and hate. The perfect mixture of oddity and challenge. You were right to throw away "my" idea and go with this one. Thanks for making this.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Nice concept, beautiful art, it seems so alive, i love the jellyfish animations. Just a quick not, I had trouble finding the start button, it might seems stupid but I almost quit the game. Otherwise great job :)

May 1, 2014 @ 10:41pm

HAhaha, I love it! sooooo cute! <33
The graphics and sound effects are just perfect! :D

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:16pm

I ended up with so many jellyfish that they were making love and fighting at the same time and then I was too late to take a screenshot because the game over screen clears all of them. Wish there was a better feedback on the swipe with a the mouse, but overall it was fun and functional.

Rzial says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:02pm

A very complete entry. Nice sounds and graphics.

The game mechanics is simple but fun.

Good Job! ^^

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]