Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Get Beneath The Surface

by rujo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get Beneath The Surface

reach the bottom of the screen to pass the level!

use arrow keys to move
up to jump and double jump
X to release the color block

match blocks to dig through the surface

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#18Fun4.07
#100Overall3.81
#141Innovation3.74
#235Theme3.63
#249Audio3.27
#332Mood3.25
#404Graphics3.40
#483Humor2.53

Comments

Lucio says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:27pm

very good! well done!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

I really liked this game!

brother.byto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Simple but fun, thumbs up!

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Unexpected interpretation of the theme, very nice game

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Hi there,

Nice game. I kind of like the gameplay mechanic which works really great.

The pixel style works great with the sound and the gameplay, it feels really retro. :D

Two things I miss: Restarting in a specific (already reached) level and a tetris like endless mode (probably where new blocks keep spamming from the ground.

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07pm

The little guy is so cute!

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Great, great game. I wish I had had this idea :D I love it, well done!

Monoquartz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Such a nice idea, graphics are neat and animations are really well done. Good job !

ioboi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Good work :)

Photon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Nice little take on the theme and the block match genre! The block queue/levels and are a little haphazard and random (in other words, there isn't necessarily much distinct difference from one level to the next,) but its still a nifty game!

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Had a blast with this, but then i kept dying! I wish the next generated block wasn't so random, (or I can at least see the next one!) would make it so much more fun!

ripatti says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Very addictive. Good work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Well made, but I was disappointed in an apparent lack of strategy. With no idea what color you're going to get next, you can't really plan ahead which makes winning or losing feel random.

Nice title screen though!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:13pm

I would have enjoyed too to be able to restart from the level where I failed instead of "from the start".
Interesting take on the theme, I feel the "ceiling" is coming down a bit too fast but otherwise it makes for a funny efficient nice little game.
I haven't played it for very long, but I suspect the music can get very repetitive pretty quick. An improvement to add would probably be to add a switch, allowing to turn it off.

Congratulations for making a game in 48 hours and submitting it to the compo !

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:46am

The protagonist is so damn cute *w*

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58am

Also, the music is incredibly catchy.

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:11am

love the game mechanic. i could see this being great on a smartphone

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:36am

Nice game! Funny and entertainig :D

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

Simple and fun mechanics, I love how relaxing the gameplay is after some of the 'heavier' games I've played today. :D Spent quite a few time playing your game!

Kalabasa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Nice simple game. The animations are good too. I think gameplay lacks some strategy. Maybe if you show the next pieces, the player will be able to plan ahead. Bigger levels (with height > 10) can encourage some strategising too. :)

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Nice and polished, good job!

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:17am

very addictive puzzle game. i could play this for hours.

Jerick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:17am

Cool idea. Would be nice to be able to see the next N blocks that are coming so you could be a bit more strategic about your movies.

ActionRemix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:39am

The other kind of puzzle platformer. Good idea.

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:08am

I finshed 6 levels. Very funny !!! :D

radmars says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:15am

Nice! Definitely a fun concept. Would be better with some more concrete level design/puzzles though, feels pretty random currently.

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:49am

hi there! i found the audio a bit annoying, but the game is really addictive and i enjoyed it! super fun =D

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:26am

While your game's great fun, it isn't very creative or deep.

Phyyl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:09am

Nice little game,! graphics are great in my opinion, sound was good and gameplay was too!

ndebruyn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:27am

I love this game it is very much fun. Well done and good luck with this one. It might be a winner....

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:43am

This game is absolutely charming, and a blast to play. Congratulations on such an amazing entry!

xk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:20am

Great game, I actually had alot of fun playing this! Great job!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:12am

Very good puzzle game, makes me want more :) Like having combos and be able to see the next block. Also it would be nice if we didn't had to start over from the beggining each time you die. But in overall you did a great job !

liamtwose says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:51am

Awesome game, well done Marco!

Zerkruemler says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:37am

Funny idea. Also fitting music. A little disapointing That you have to start from the beginning when you lost.
Sometimes it is more random if you can place the block usful.

neekobus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:14am

Simple and efficient ! Base mecanics are goods.

You need to add power ups (explose line, jump boost, joker block, pushable blocks, slow, ...) because it will be a bit annoying otherwise.
I'd like to see the next block too.

Good work.

shadow64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:15am

This was very nicely done. I had a lot of fun playing it and I felt like you had a lot of fun making it. Great work! :D

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:55am

Simple, polished and fun. Well done! :)

Dreauw says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Nice use of the theme ! That was really fun to play.

I'm really bad at this kind of game so it takes me a lot's of retry to just go to level 10 :D

D2FXRayG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Nice! Simple but really fun to play!

May 1, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Interesting mechanics, fairly basic but fun. Cute graphics and music. Nice work!

May 2, 2014 @ 9:03pm

This is aaaaaaaaalmost the best game ever. So simple and satisfying yet challenging and nervous. Tweak the control and make it so you can somehow plan ahead, add bonuses and combos and I will throw my money at you until you drown in paper and metal.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:30am

Very interesting take on the matching blocks genre! Might want to nail down the movement speed and make it feel really really good, but aside from that, wonderful game!

k.escoe says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:33pm

well its official this game is so much fun that i bookmarked it!

May 5, 2014 @ 2:54am

This game is brilliant!

RetroEpic says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:20am

This was super fun! Good job, with some polish this could become something really rad.
Just need to work on your colour harmonies, otherwise controls felt super tight.

Afal says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:19pm

This game gets really challenging really quickly. I like it :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]