Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

bts

by hampa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

press any key to switch surface, switching surface can only be done when they overlap. Miss an overlap and you die!

Made in html5, music on my iphone, art in code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Innovation4.48
#123Audio3.57
#143Fun3.61
#191Overall3.61
#483Mood3.06
#506Theme3.32
#912Graphics2.61
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:54am

I see where you were going with this! It's an interesting idea and switching surfaces to speed up is pretty gratifying. It's mostly lacking in feedback right now, as players can't really tell why they die at first (should animate them falling off the surface) and you don't die when you become too small and slow.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

Well done! This was an amazing entry. Possibly the most unique interpretation of the theme I've seen so far and definitely a crazy awesome game mechanic. It could use some more polishing, but it's a great idea nonetheless.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Very unique, needs a tutorial of sorts though

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

Love the music! :D Do kinda wonder if you could achieve a high score by leaving the computer sit for a while. . .

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

I like the idea, it could become in something bigger sometime maybe. Original :3

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

Simple, clever, and engaging.

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

I like the concept of the game and the graphics are simple but very appropriate for this game. I think this would make a great two-player game.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

I liked the way you interpreted the theme. It's an interesting concept.

43iscoding says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I never thought a game that minimalistic could be that interesting! good job on this one!

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Clever! (and Hypnotic !)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

It's an original idea with a pure environment which seems poor but efficient. I like this game. THX ++

tanjent says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Haven't seen a game like this before! Very cool idea. A new game genre? Wave riders? Could have dynamic music/discontinues in the lines.. hmm you got me thinking!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56am

I liked the music, I'm surprised with your interpretation of the theme though.
To me, it doesn't really fit.
But the minimalistic realisation and gameplay is enjoyable.
Good work !

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Very innovative mechanics. This could go fantastic places :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Cool entry, love the mechanic. I think there should be a "x seconds maximum time" each time the avatar enters a surface, since I found out that the circumference just kept going if it didn't changed surfaces, albeit rather slowly. Either way I enjoyed the game, so great job.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Minimalist but efficient, good job!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Wasn't expecting to find a game hosted on toribash :)

Anyway cool mechanic. With a bit more polish I could totally see this as a mobile game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]