Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

UNDER

by baldwinthree - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In a subterranean complex filled with bloodthirsty monsters, ONE PERSON (that's you) must get the THE GREEN ROOM ON THE MAP.

Inspiration drawn from Teleglitch and Hotline Miami, mostly unsuccessfully.

Whoo-eee, this is a tough one.
Finally got something out, however.

Originally imagined as a mystery / action game where you discover a complex underneath the city's sewers, then fight your way through hordes of mutated creatures to whatever. Zombies were easier.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#225Mood3.45
#365Fun3.26
#447Overall3.29
#523Humor2.47
#654Graphics3.00
#742Audio2.40
#933Innovation2.56
#967Theme2.68
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04am

Not bad, a bit short though. I also didn't realize that I had to be aiming to fire, so I was all melee for the first bit.

paps says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

fun to play. loved the shadows

ajfischer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

I liked the lightning effects and sound a lot. Good atmosphere. It got pretty hard when I ran out of bullets/energy quite fast though. The controls are real solid.

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09am

The lighting effects and the atmosphere were great. I like how it took a few seconds for your eyes to adjust to darkness after you turned off your flashlight or shot the gun. Well done!

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15am

I liked the lighting - and especially that you become accustomed to the dark with the torch turned off.

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00am

Like it

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29am

Very creepy. These types of games always freak me out :)

Baknik says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:43am

Great lighting effects!

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:53am

I loved the effect of "eyes adjusting to the dark now" after I turn off the flashlight. I don't think that was short OR I got totally lost ahaha You did a splendid job in 48h. Great entry!

Chaoseed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:56am

Man, this is tough! I think you did a great job on implementing all the mechanics, though. The (I think?) randomly generated levels are cool. It has a good mix of suspense and then frantic action. The instructions are a little terse; it took me a while to realize that "attack" alone is melee, but "attack + aim" is shoot. The flashlight is interesting...I suppose the reason the flashlight batteries run out is to keep the player frantically searching for more? The funny thing is, when my flashlight ran out I almost felt like it was better because I could see around myself instead of just a narrow cone in front. Anyway, good work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]