Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroid(s)

by jonsul - Jam Entry

Fly around in a spaceship destroying asteroids. It sort of turned out a bit like osmos but without any goals.

Controls are:
UP - Thrust
LEFT - Turn left
RIGHT - Turn right
A -Fire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Graphics(Jam)4.21
#222Fun(Jam)3.25
#368Overall(Jam)3.21
#489Audio(Jam)2.74
#500Innovation(Jam)2.71
#549Mood(Jam)2.75
#578Theme(Jam)2.68
#652Humor(Jam)1.53
#2134Coolness10%

Comments

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19am

Holy cow that's a rad spaceship

frankd0331 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

It wasn't until I finished it that I figured out how the theme applied to the game. I really enjoyed the mechanic of chipping away at something to get to what's inside. Strong work.

zell2002 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

I enjoyed this !
Some more game mechanics and this could be a winner !

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:30am

Like you mentioned, an objective would make this much better, but the art, controls, and physics are really nice!

anthonyl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:11am

I really like your art style!

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:23am

Pretty good controls! I like the layers on the asteroids. You can't take damage though.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:42am

Nice ART Style and cool gameplay , I really want to see this game with goals !

wilkers64 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:17am

http://puu.sh/8tbLf.jpg lol

Spellmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Could see this getting really interesting with a bit more
time for more game mechanics. Nicely done.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Cool graphics!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:35pm

It's very pretty, and the way you have to destroy the asteroid cores is cool, but it really needs some kind of goal and difficulty.

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I like the stronger explosions you get from the center of the asteroids

Skencer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:46pm

This game is sweet. I figured out that your lazers can bounce off of each other. clearing the asteroids and filling the room with lazers is it's own reward for winning :3

hnjslater says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Really pretty and with a bit more time, would've been a great game. The only thing I didn't like was the steering mechanics; I would've preferred if it was more like asteroids in that spinning the spin doesn't effect velocity

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Sweeet. Love the design of the ship. I always prefer a gamepad for this type of thing.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:04am

cool game - too bad there are no objectives or enemies - nice job

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:29am

Very arcadey. I feel like I should be playing this on a cabinet in a dark room smelling of pizza and quarters. Nicely done. The ship looks cool, and the geometric-looking asteroids keep the screen looking interesting.

bucketh3ad says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Loved the graphics! The collection mechanic made for an interesting variation.

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:14am

Really nice graphics and tight controls!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:30pm

I like your take on the theme - chipping away at a surface rather than going underneath it. The game is cool and the flying and shooting feels solid. Would like some actual objectives, though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]