Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Water SkiFree

by OddballDave - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** The Flash version is really slow/laggy. Please try the download version for best results **

A game by David Williamson

Hit 'space' to start. Use 'wasd' or arrow keys to move. Avoid the creatures beneath the surface.

Tools used
Code - monkey x
Graphics - FireAlpaca
Sound - Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#364Theme3.47
#585Graphics3.13
#659Humor2.29
#704Audio2.48
#798Overall2.93
#834Innovation2.69
#973Mood2.50
#1029Fun2.43

Comments

Kar says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:27pm

It looks nice on screenshots. But when I try to play it and press any key while playing it is like 1 fps or even lower :/ Meybe it's something with my machine or browser?

lightsoda says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

Looks alright and I like the movement of the player.

It's kinda hard to tell what you have to avoid at times. And like Kar said, it starts to struggle after a little while, some serious frame rate drop.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53am

Interesting gameplay mechanic and theme usage. Pretty neat!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46am

Overall very very busy on the screen. The clouds moving by was a nice effect, but not so much when I can't seem to find a clear distinction between what I'm supposed to avoid, sea gulls, and clouds. More then once I thought I was doing okay but then I hit something cause I lost track of the player and couldn't really tell what was going on here.

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Agree with comments above. Screen is a bit cluttered and there's not much room to avoid creatures. Maybe adding some 'up-down' movement (plus current 'left-right'). Well done, anyway :)

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Nice hardcore experience.
Too much stuff on the screen and sharks coming out of nowhere make this game even more difficult.
The graphics are pretty good anyway :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Nice style and liked the use of the theme but had the same issue when trying to play in browser, the framerate really dropped. Windows version works well though.

tanjent says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Man I keep getting wasted without knowing why! I think this game would be massive if the graphics where trimmed just a bit. Good entry, lot's of potential here.

MidCry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Interesting and sort of original game ... must play in mobile ... great aesthetics ... but kind of hard to prevent failure ...

hampa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:06am

Flash version worked fine here. Cool twist on water games. Could use some more sounds and a bit of music.

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:14am

I like the idea, the controls are good, but it's very hard. And rarely did I die thinking it was my fault, it was usually a 'well, there's no way I could have possibly avoided that situation' or because there doesn't seem enough distinction between the ones that are deep enough to swim over, and the ones that will kill you. Would maybe be a little easier if it was a little more zoomed in to the guy.
High score: 1196

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:43am

Like the overall feel, but I felt that it was a little unfair. Fish would sometimes appear right in front of me. I also found that it would be nicer if there was less time to wait to restart.

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:26pm

I give you a good graphics rating - I like the style and helicopter-ish feeling. gameplay-wise I wish I would be able to jump or dodge, because I crashed into those creatures several times without a warning (or a cloud cloaking the avatar)... other than the need of tweaking/balancing, good job overall!

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Nice wave effect. Bit hard to see what's going on with the fish though. Could use a jump or dash button.

tchem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:10pm

nice idea,,, graphics are cool,, but maybe a little confuse in the gameplay

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice graphics and good use of the theme, though everything seems a bit too small, especially the skier and the schools of tiny fish.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Looks nice, but having the obstacles effectively in the background makes it too hard to keep track of things.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:10am

best score i got was 911. I thought your game was cool! i saw several kinds of animal life. even a submarine! and the loch ness monster! very scary to see those giant things. ^_^

Chaoseed says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Not bad! The gameplay is actually reasonably fun...It just got a little monotonous after a while. I like the graphics of the sea critters looming up out of the depths.

camlang says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Interesting game, hard to recognise sharks and other enemies on background

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:19am

Pretty challenging!

woodenrabbit says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:39pm

It was a hard game, at least for me. Well done though I enjoyed that it was difficult and I actually liked that there was so much stuff going on. Your graphics look good too and with all the stuff in ocean it made the game feel bustling and exciting.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]