Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SimWarren

by thenmal - Jam Entry

Play a warren of rabbits beneath the surface trying to survive as long as possible. "How To Play" is at the weblink.

Quick How to Play
Tab to switch between your rabbits, and center the camera on them.
WASD/Arrow keys or edge scrolling to move camera.
Click on dirt or carrots to issue orders, right click to cancel.
Click on button in bottom right to change current rabbits profession.
The targeted rabbit is darker brown and will say what they are currently doing in the bottom right.
Rabbits need burrows to store food and sleep in.


This is a team jam entry. This is our second ever completed ludum dare. Our previous entry being for ld26. We had a lot of fun making this and hope you enjoy it!

Thanks for playing :)

Update:
Apparently lots of other games have been having problems with the unity web player and mouse clicks not registering, I haven't heard about a problem with our game yet but if you can't get past the start game screen try downloading the stand alone version as they shouldn't have the problem.

Pushed a version with a camera bug fix detailed in comments below.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#210Theme(Jam)3.48
#261Innovation(Jam)3.27
#328Humor(Jam)2.68
#344Mood(Jam)3.10
#403Overall(Jam)3.15
#418Audio(Jam)2.95
#534Graphics(Jam)2.95
#553Fun(Jam)2.64

Comments

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

Interesting little game. Really needed buttons to move the camera, though.

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39am

This was cute. I had trouble, couldn't figure out how to pick up the carrots so I kept dying after a short amount of time.

thenmal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41am

Picking up carrots is a three step process. First you need to have a burrow built to store the food in, then you need the carrot targeted by clicking on it and finally some rabbit needs to be assigned to forage.

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

The controls are confusion at first, but once you get used to it it is pretty neat hehe

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:18am

Nice game, takes a little while to figure out though. It would be useful to be able to move the camera with the keyboard.

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38am

quite complex for a jam game. I liked, especially the music

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Confusing to learn, but I like the concept. Bunnies! :D

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

edge scrolling was a little fast and wonky, but nice audio and fun gameplay

SecularBaron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

That was really cool.

thenmal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:45am

Just pushed out new version to fix camera bugs. Finally got to see this on other computers and apparently the camera scrolling was frame rate dependent, which made it much faster than intended on good systems (aka not mine :p).

While I was there I added keyboard movement controls since lots of people were asking for it.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:33am

Really cool, couldn't always get my rabbits to do what I wanted. :P

NicoM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35am

Very nice game:), quite complex for a jam game, and yet not complicated to play, quite relaxing in a way, Great Job!:)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27am

I had to puch the wall to feel like a man again xD This game is cute and relax. Sometimes i see the rabbits floating o.O , great work :D

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Pretty neat idea for a game! This game was pretty adorable on all counts. I kept encountering a weird bug where the screen would scroll left forever (focus problem maybe on my browser), but the windows build fixed this. Nice music, and fun entry!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Neat and funny!

zeh says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Nice idea. Learning was hard. My rabbits kept dying on me. Took a lot of tries to get it to actually work in a way that I knew what I was doing.

MrShoestore says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Cute game and I really enjoyed the music. The controls took a bit to get used to but after that it was a really nice experience!

kibertoad says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Watership Down: The Game would be awesome. Please do a post-ld.

alvivar says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:01am

Innovative, curious and fun.

My only problem with the game are the controls. Hard to figure out how they work at first.

gre says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Totally amazing how our games are similar.
Great job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]