Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drill Arena

by TheDreik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Survival arena game where some robots with drills meaninglessly fighting with each other.

Here is controls for game:
WASD or Arrows - movement
P or Enter - pause

You start by random selected one of three robot types.
1. Heavy - many health, but slow
2. Medium - balanced robot
3. Fast - very fast, but has low health

Sometimes repair kits generates on arena.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#467Fun3.11
#487Innovation3.15
#632Overall3.11
#763Humor2.16
#826Graphics2.74
#833Theme2.93
#886Audio2.04
#1019Mood2.43
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

frankd0331 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

Best time: 480 Seconds, 19 Enemies exterminated. I love the speedy robot, reminiscent of N64 Micro Machines. Really good game!

amymist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

This is super fun, and def pretty hard!

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

Surprisingly fun, but you should make it such that you always spawn as the speedy robot (it's the most fun having to outsmart/outrun your enemies).

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07am

Fun game! A lot of battles aren't terribly exciting, though, when two people just face off, drilling each other. I'd like to see upgrades or powerups just so there'd be ways to turn the tide of battle in your favor :]

lucienpro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37am

Really fun but it needed instructions, Good job though!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39am

Overall it is S+AWESOME, but the faceoffs can be pretty lackluster

GmacktheGummy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:20pm

I originally thought that this game would be no good, no offense, mostly because of the art style presented, but after playing it for about 15 minutes, I see that this game has a very original gameplay and is almost like an Atari game, which is hard to replicate to a tee, in my opinion. That being said, the art style was still gross, no music, it didn't really need, and character speed could have been upped to improve the flow. As a result, the game wasn't that fun.
Despite all of these problems, I did actually enjoy the end product. While it was a perfect game, it was more than adequate, and definitely one of the better games that I've played so far. Good work.

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:31am

Surprisingly more fun then a thought it would be, but but for a weird reason. It a lot harder than it really should be but after playing for a bit I was able to scrap some strategies together and rack up 17 kills. It reminds me of some of our recent games where we didn't have enough time to polish it up so it's playable but really unevenly built.

~AlucardX60

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]