Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Scratch

by bentosmile - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game of extreme teen angst! It's a visual novel, so the controls are pretty simple:

SPACE: advance text
ENTER: confirm/advance text
ARROW KEYS: pick option
ESCAPE: quit
F: toggle fullscreen (off by default)

Note - I didn't spend much energy on this game. It's primarily for fun, and not so much a test of my limits. :) Still, enjoy! It should be playable in 5 minutes at the most.

Source is included in the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#87Humor3.59
#92Theme3.89
#179Mood3.53
#192Graphics3.80
#360Overall3.38
#751Innovation2.80
#798Fun2.75

Comments

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03am

Not your best game of course but I enjoyed it and it surprised me. twice. in a 2 seconds intervals. cool.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47am

Did not see that coming in the end xD, great game nonetheless

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

Oh my god. THE SURPRISE.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

Nice take on the theme. Not sure what that thing was though, maybe aliens.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55am

I got so engaged in that, and then--abrupt lovely confusion. That was quite enjoyable.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56am

Lol! I love how the friend is just like, "Oh, why diddnt you tell me sooner? ok bye." Nice suprise though :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Kafka would be proud!

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Hehe nice! That was sure unexpected! Nicely done.

smikulcik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Nice twist at the end.

lorniebear says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43pm

I like the graphics! :)

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

It pulls you in to give you an interesting surprise at the end. The best part of this game was the graphics. I always like games with multiple endings, so that was a plus.

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:47pm

There needs to be a category for storytelling or something :). Even played twice to see different dialog and endings.

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Boy, that escalated quickly !

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

YEEEEEEEHHH! I'm an evil creature! I enjoyed it, like, every part of it. Except for the sound, because it doesn't has any.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

That ending is up there with The Usual Suspects and Virtue's Last Reward.

Also: Boom, voice acting: https://soundcloud.com/xgeovanni/scratch
(Feel free to contact me with job offers. I won't get out of bed for less that $80 000).

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

pretty cool, although I should note that white text on a yellow background is often not a superb choice.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

That made me WTF pretty hard in the end. I really enjoy the graphics, really pleasant on the eyes.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
That ending D:
Brilliant work on the extreme teen angst part.. I feel so disgusted with the way the character is disgusted with herself that it actually made it make more sense if you know what I mean.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

First manga styled game in this LD I've spotted so far.
Nice little game!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06pm

This end xD nice one.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22pm

I liked the surprise at the end. A tale of alienation becomes more literal! ;) Nice capturing of teen angst in the dialog. I was just clicking right along reading up the story, totally sucked into it.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41pm

That was so deep and then all of the sudden just what. Played through again, sad I got the same path even though I changed my responses. Still a great game!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Wasn't expecting to see another VN in Ludum Dare. Really liked the twist and twist's design.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:07am

I just LOVED the graphic style. Wish I could draw like this (I am awful with human-shaped things).
It is a shame that there is only one ending, because I would have gladly played through it multiple time to find them all (which I already did, and always got the same ending).
Great job anyway, loved it!

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:44pm

The simplistic graphics style worked wonders, but for me the story wasn't all that compelling. Too bad I also spoiled myself a bit on the other comments :(.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Nice game. Now, only if there is multiple endings :P

solkar says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I know some people exactly like that.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:47am

I... really liked this. I thought the main character was just transgendered and severely depressed at first, and then... that twist *_* I actually don't have much of anything to add as far as concrit--the game looks great, with good color design and well-chosen images. It may be tiny, but I think it was just the right size for the scope, the twist, and the ideas at hand. A nice game, and I appreciated that you put in multiple endings for such a small project.

Now I want to go take a look at your work for the other competitions! Thank you. This was a nice breather in-between everything else.

May 2, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Cool game, I really enjoyed it. I was missing some sound/music, but still... ;) I made a game by the same name, but yours is better, of course!

King_Mew says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I loved it. The ending caught me off guard :P

rfgpfeiffer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Hey bentosmile! I immediately recognized your style on the tiny thumbnail screenshot. I have played your visual novels on my Ouya. Air Pressure was - "fun" is not the right word - really engaging.

Nanolotl says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:48am

Great ending

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]