Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Builder

by PTSnoop - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A planetary engineering game.

Your job is to create different types of planet - desert, icy, earthlike etc - for different people. What components you put into the planet determine its tectonic activity, temperature, and water content. You're aiming to keep all of these within certain limits.

Use the buttons on the left to drop new components into the planet.

The bad news is, all these components must fit beneath the surface of your planet - no edges sticking out. And you've only got a limited amount of planet-mass to cover things up with - so you'll have to keep things packed closely together, as well as deciding carefully what you can get away with leaving out.

Components can be dragged around - a bit - but it's by no means easy to get things where you want them. Be careful!

The right mouse button lets you rotate the camera.

On the right of the screen, you'll see the current stats for your planet, as well as the details for your current planet type, and the planet type you're aiming for. Once you've constructed the right type of planet, you'll get a "Complete" button that'll take you to the next level.

There are five levels in total. Good luck!

All planet surfaces generated using http://donjon.bin.sh/world/ .

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Innovation4.05
#105Theme3.86
#214Overall3.57
#267Graphics3.64
#483Mood3.06
#489Fun3.09
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

aslakhol says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:06pm

This was a really cool take on the theme, I hope you add more stages after the contest is over.

monaarc says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Nice Game ! Very efficient :)

DazKins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32pm

It was a good game and I had fun playing it, however I felt there could have been more variation in the planets statistics, and the game started out at a very low level. Other than that great idea and really cool take on the theme. Well done!

MyrddinsOwl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

I got my planet to match on the second level (lava) but I didn't get the complete button

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Very cool idea :)

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

I really like the mechanics. Though dragging the components is a little tough but I guess it adds to the difficulty of the game. Good job.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

hehe it's pretty cool! I would have played more levels with pleasure! More complicated ones!

Crowbeak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Lol, must have a rebel base.

May 13, 2014 @ 3:15am

Neat concept. I like the take on the theme and the gameplay is fun if a little simple.

JonathanG says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:46am

An interesting idea, but perhaps the "packing items to fit beneath the surface" idea would have been better without using physics. Also, when you rotate the camera it seems to change the direction in which objects move when dragged, are they using world coordinates?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]