Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

I am a Mole

by graebor - Jam Entry

Here's the simple game I put together this weekend! Didn't spend as much time on it as I might have liked to (did roughly 15 hours?), but my primary goal this LD was just to finish something, and I did! Will probably write up a quick postmortem post after work today.

Tools used - Unity, Photoshop CC, Audacity
Music is Autopilot by Legofriendly (http://www.jamendo.com/en/track/98859/autopilot)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#7Theme(Jam)4.21
#16Fun(Jam)4.06
#19Overall(Jam)4.11
#39Humor(Jam)3.82
#52Mood(Jam)3.98
#106Audio(Jam)3.71
#125Graphics(Jam)4.09
#150Innovation(Jam)3.51

Comments

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Wow really great game love it!

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Great game. I was patient enough to eat it all. Superb ending : )

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

We had nearly the same idea :D

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=33045

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Pretty cool, Didn't expect the 'hill' to turn out to be the entire world, so that was pretty funny. Nice job on this, looks well polished.

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Great game, I really enjoyed it.

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Haha, great game! I also managed to see the grand finale an it put a smile on my face. Thanks!

Cireon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Not a very original concept, though still an enjoyable game. What I really missed in this game is a losing condition. Games become boring really fast by not being able to lose. In this game you just bump into enemies bigger than you, which is good because sometimes it is not entirely clear who you can eat or not, but there is not really a challenge in this game and thus the biggest part is not getting bored and reach the amazing ending.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14pm

accidental commentary on the consumer culture paradigm? Hilarious and fun :)

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14pm

really awesome game, I loved the text and how big you are at the end!
Great job!

tinykidtoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

That was a fun short game. I loved the graphics.

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Woohoo! Found someone who made mole game just like me! I love it! Looks absolutely polished, and the concept is amazing. One tiny little thing; I thought the animation of his paws looked a bit weird. But overall, it's totally worth five stars!

phi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

I love it! Simple concept, but highly satisfying to play. The little "story" behind it is great, too. If you add more levels/planets to it, it would be even more awesomer!

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Hah... I couldn't wait to eat the core of the Earth since the moment I've seen it. This was fun. I want a sequel on an alien planet!

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

This was fun, reminded me of the first stage from spore. Very nice graphics!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Yummy game. Nice use of trails.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I really like the mood of the game, the simple animation, and the ending anding starting dialogs. Feels nice and polished :)

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Very cool game! Great music and concept. Reminded me of Spore :)

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

It may have been short, but it was definitely fun while it lasted. I enjoy that Spore aspect of gameplay, of getting larger and being able to consume the things that were once huge to you. The graphics were really nice, and I like how you confined the mole within the circular planet. Gives you a fun sense of scale of how much you grew. I would be interested to see how this concept could evolve. Great job, regardless!

Rose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

This is really fun! I don't think you need a lose condition. It's just fun and satisfying to get bigger and bigger, and the end is great.

jcvsmc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

I wondered where this game was going at first and then when I realized I loved it xD very cool, really fun, cute ending :)

TomboFry says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Really like the simplicity of this game, it's actually quite zen like

quade81 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

This was really Awesome. Much more than I was expecting.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

This reminded me a lot of Katamari or Tasty Planet.

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Totally not what I expected, but I left with a smile :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06am

I did a little bit of research after playing your game and I don't think you understand the eating habits and growth rates of moles.

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06am

Love it! Reminds me of Osmos and Katamari Damacy.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07am

But seriously, great work. :) "Bite sized", and quite fun.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47am

Short and sweet, perfect execution. Also super cute.

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06am

Short, sweet, and I'll have nightmares now. Thanks

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22am

Nice little game! Totally playable :) Could do with some danger/challenge though.

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18am

Great game, so relaxing to play.
It reminds me Flow.

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:03pm

solid game! excells in it's simplicity..props for the music..well done

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Nice execution! Consistent art style and a fun story to wrap it up. Good work!

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Loved it good work you did there.

Daskaund says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:14pm

great game !

May 1, 2014 @ 9:26am

really fun to play, but you cant really die so it is a little too easy :) nonetheless i love the concept that you need to grow to consume bigger foes!

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Not particularly replayable, but very polished and fun to play through once. Katamari-like.

May 3, 2014 @ 6:04pm

I became Moleactus, eater of worlds... And it was fun! Haha! nice ending!

woodenrabbit says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:56am

Its impressive that you got so much done in so little time.

The game ended up being quite enjoyable, more so than I had thought from the initial images. But I really actually enjoyed it. The graphics look great and worked really well with it. I'm also really glad you put in the beginning and ending text/scenes because it help give the game closure.

Well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]