Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Carnival Warfare

by pinkmonkeyhead - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the new employee of West Mountain Carnival Festival, but can you keep up above the sale minimum surface?

Move with ARROWS and interact with SPACE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#121Graphics3.95
#238Audio3.29
#244Mood3.43
#257Humor2.97
#309Innovation3.43
#388Overall3.34
#440Fun3.14
#1076Theme2.42

Comments

Siewart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

Nice idea, great execution (Safe from some tiny bugs: Hard Edges + Flying Employees).

suoraviiva says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

I love it! Really nice graphics and a fitting soundtrack to the carnival theme. Resource management works perfectly with upgrades, though it's still very hard to survive more than two days :) Actually the last time I played, every booth got fired after the first day.

This is definitely one of the best LD games I have ever played. Thanks!

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33am

Working that carnival is hard, everyone got fired on day 2.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45am

Nice work. More complex, than i thought on the first watch.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

This was a different interpretation of the theme but I liked it :D I was fired on day 2 with 33 sales :)

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Brilliant concept, very hard! Looks awesome too!

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Fantastic game! I lost on day 2 but really enjoyed the gameplay.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Fun and addicting, and the graphics are charming. I enjoyed it a lot!

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51am

Ha, really liked the characters expressions. Well done :)

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31am

Great work! Gonna have to play this again later!

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46am

Wow, that was pretty nice game! Not only the mechanics were something that I haven't seen in LD often, but the use of the theme was also quite creative!

The only problem I had with the game is that the text for the updates was quite hard to read - I spent many precious seconds trying to understand what the upgrades were, and their cost.

Thanks for the game!

(PS: the game works on wine, but since you're using Unity, could you also add a linux binary? Thanks!)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:11am

@caranha
I added Linux (i never compiled to linux before so i don't really know if its right)
thanks for the comment!

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37am

Nice job... very good graphics and toomuch fun

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42am

Haha, very entertaining! I got fired :(

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

Nice Game, I almost got to day 3... By one SALE!!! Geez! It is pretty hard, specially because you lose unused respect... shame, shame...

aeveis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32am

nice art, the walking felt a bit slow, especially when I was losing customers. Fun game though! The over-selling bit was funny.

PixelFeet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33am

Well done!! Couldn't pass up a game with a name like "carnival warfare" :)

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:02am

Love the mood. The graphics and audio come together very nicely to give the carnival feel.

If you stand in the right spot in the resupply tent and spam space bar, it looks like your character is doing unseemly things.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05am

Really nice presentation. The animations are great. The music is appropriate, it sets the mood really well. I definitely felt motivated to get the word out about my product and get customers to buy my stuff, it reminded me of when I worked retail during the summers in college.

None of the sellers made it past the second day, it made me wonder if that was possible or not?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

The Linux port is not working : you have to add the data folder in the archive. And is it possible to add a 64bits binary ?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:11am

@Sébastien Bernery
i forgot to add the data folder. foolish mistake! i uploaded new .zip

whalebot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

I am the best salesman! Seriously, good job with this. I think the theme link was a bit of a stretch though... I'm not sure what happened on day 2, they said I was fired, and then I came back the next day? Oh well! Great game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

@Sébastien Bernery
I tried to compile to Linux x64, i dont know if it worked :)

l3dx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16am

I liked this game. Great carnival mood, and a quite different interpretation of the theme! Nice graphics and sound. Have to play again :)

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45am

Not bad. Thin vile of the theme. That's ok, my game is the same (vague reference to the theme)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11am

The linux build works perfectly :).
I'm happy I was able to play to this very good game !

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18am

Fun!

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Cool, interesting concept - very well executed! Really liked it!

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Dood, can you make a secret mode where you sell weapons as the RE4 merchant? Or a pepsi mode? XD

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Fun, albeit repetitive, doing the same actions over and over.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Awesome game! I got fired but then I managed to turn things around xD

Rusky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

Aside from balance issues, very well done!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Cute and funny!

May 3, 2014 @ 12:31am

Nice presentation here, slick graphics and music. I felt the gameplay was a bit repetitive, having to go back and forth between the tents. Other than that, its an interesting concept and pretty fun.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:27am

I loved it! The graphics were great, the shifty salesman eyes along with the smile got creepier the more I played haha.

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:33am

SUCH a cute game! I really enjoyed playing it and sprinting around to make the sales cut. I love the art and the game play idea! It's a bit loosey-goosey on the theme, but I personally don't think that's a big deal. It's ultimately a fun game and I enjoyed the rush from it. :D

King_Mew says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I love it. It's a bit hard and I think the gameplay needs a bit... more. But it's fantastic. Great job!

metkis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:08pm

VERY well done. Enjoyed it!

cageinabird says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Although the connection to the theme feels tenuous (shouldn't it be a minimum sales line rather than surface?), the presentation is slick and the characters are adorable. The gameplay loop is well thought out, and maybe just needs a little tweaking (making the rounds shorter and easier, and the player a bit quicker).

hbocao says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:37am

Beautiful game! Interesting take on the theme although it feels a little "forced". The game is fun, I hated keep running around to fill up the stock. Maybe if the player was faster... Great job either way! The music really helps too. I must say that you made a really impressive work for 48h.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Nice concept and really polished! I just can't seen the relation with the theme...

ruerob says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Nice, fun and challenging game. Thank you for this entry.

May 4, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Very good idea! It is really difficult to get past day 2. Cute graphics!

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:48am

Great and cool game.

DavidErosa says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Great graphics and great idea. It doesn't really fit the theme but it's a really nice game!

Penguincat says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:14am

Nice take on the theme! It's a rough life as a carnival salesman, though - fired on day 2 :\ It was a bit hard to restock without losing a ton of respect each time; I think I saw an upgrade that would let you keep more resources at your booth each time, but never got enough respect to buy it. Still, pretty fun game, and the music and graphics fit the premise perfectly. :)

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:30am

Awesome game idea, graphics and mood. Just brilliant. Way too hard though.

What does it have to do with beneath the surface? Is it the harsh working environment that exists beneath the surface of carnival fairs?

Raiyumi says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:27pm

This was pretty fun. It got some nice graphics and an interesting take on theme.

jtpup0 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

Nice twist on tycoon games!, quite glitchy yet enjoyable

Garris says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:58pm

This was a lot of fun, and the graphics and sound were really top-notch. I had some minor text issues (text outside screen even with my monitor's resolution selected), but nothing that was more than a tiny distraction to an otherwise charming and fun game.

May 8, 2014 @ 11:38pm

@Garris Whats your screen resolution? Im checking for bugs in the text. Thank you!

SK16Games says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Very lovely game :D

May 11, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Super fun game! I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/a1xd0I3_xtY

mortus says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:09am

Nice idea and great work for a limited time! I feel that the difficulty curve is much too steep, though. I easily finished day 1, day 2 was just fine and day 3 is next to impossible for me.

Lythom says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:14pm

hi,
here's some feedback about your game.
What I liked :
- Atmosphere / Graphics / Fonts / Music / Sounds
- entierly playable
- Tips on "How to play" when announcing the days end/start
What in my opinion could be improved :
- integration of the theme in the game, the idea is good but could be exploited better.
- fun, it lacks a few fun stuff : it feels like a real job pain :p which could be converted into a good point with a better theme integration I think.
- some collision bugs with the stand to be fixed
- some visual inacuracy with texts (positions, readability)
Very good job overall, I do appreciate the finish quality of your game.
Thanks for the game !

PaperBlurt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Yes!
This is fun.
It makes me miss Theme Park World!
which I love!
Keep it up!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Neat idea, but after running out of stock I couldn't really play anymore.

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:38am

I like this game, even though I'm not sure if it's a mistake or bug or not but the win screen got you some humor points from me. :)

Innovative, but a big stretch on the theme, still fun and well made.

jorgemoag says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Very fun! I enjoyed it a lot! Maybe if you could control more employees would be fantastic

kirbytails7 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:25am

Nice entry. I like the lemonade stand feel but with being able to move around.

May 16, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Well, I didn't understand the theme at all at first. Beneath the line is a bit abstract. Graphics were cool, music was okay. Felt a bit repetitive after a while, it's just that I don't like the theme interpetation at all.

Anoarith says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Cute and wonderfull game, especially for a Compo Entry :) ! I found it kinda repetitive though. Nice job on the music, it was totally appropriate.

shadow64 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:11am

The game is pretty good, but I do have some notes.

I didn't understand that I had to go to the red tent until I checked the in-game help. I tried going to the blue tent, but no matter how much I pressed X or Z nothing happened. The walk speed was also pretty slow and you might want to add the ability to upgrade just that - buying sneakers? I don't know. Lastly, the soundtrack was oddly quiet - I'm not exactly sure why that was happening but it was.

I still played through a couple of times (in windowed and fullscreen). For 48 hours it's a fun game and I'd like to see you expand it.

Lastly thanks for telling me about your LD27 entry - it was pretty interesting when you compare it to my current entry. Very similar ideas! :D

Thanks for sharing and for playing my game and rating it. Best of luck with the last days of the voting!

elefantopia says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:04am

Fun game! Wished we could move faster to the red and blue tents... the customers were getting away. Very addictive.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]