Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 29

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The world beneath - Spotline - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an exploration/discovery game. There's no clear goal but the deeper you go, the more you'll find interesting stuff (and the more you'll need torches to find your way in the dark). The level is randomized at every play.

Please play with your headphones !

View Spotline's journal. | View all entries by Spotline

Ratings

Coolness73%
Mood4.53
Audio4.34
#69Graphics4.20
#105Theme3.86
#106Overall3.79
#270Innovation3.49
#408Fun3.19
#483Humor2.53

Comments

pixelpun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:40am

Nice... Love the sound in this... I ran outa Torches soo quickly.. :)

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

I really, really enjoyed this. Throwing a torch up and seeing all the color was a great moment.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

Nice one. Great effects! I got down below but ran out of torches

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45am

Gosh, that atmosphere is beautiful. Although, I find the seemingly endless paths leading to sealed pipes sorta irritating. And I had a lot of fun throwing torches around, so it bothered me that they were in limited supply, leaving you to stumble in total darkness if you run out.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24am

Wow breathtaking visuals! stunning music, I really like this allot! 5 stars all around.

BigRat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:28am

The game is made for fun .And i will rate you 5 because it's really fun.I feel me like i am in a Horror game and Something is following me .In other case your game is very calm down and i am feeling me good because the music is very well integrated with game. So Hope you will create another game like this ))

If you play my game you will became the most nervous man in the world so if you wish to play first read the instruction(CatMario Type)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34234

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:41pm

This is beautiful, and not at all patronising. Thank you.

Evilion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Awesome atmosphere !

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Great mood. Seeing the torch ablaze and listening to those lush chords was a beautiful experience. Thank you.

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

It's beautiful º¬º

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Sounds and graph are very cool. Dat mood ! Sadly my mouse cursor didn't stay in the game and it was very difficult to play and launch torches correctly ... i get trapped in the dark ^^

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:34pm

What a beautiful, beautiful, BEAUTIFUL experience. :D

Matthew Brown says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Absolutely incredible work on the music! Properly atmospheric stuff.

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I had problems with camera. But I dig the art style and OMG when I throwed the first torch and that sound came out... I felt like this could really be something special.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Loved the colored lights -- they inspired me. Seemed like I wasn't doing anything, though, with no time limit or anything.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:22am

Really beautifil !

mooew says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Beautiful, as always.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Art+Lighting system is awesome, the worst part was that my mouse didn't stay in the game.

Spotline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Hi ! Thanks for your feedbacks, for everyone who found the controls , camera, or cursor to be difficult to use I'm building a better post-ludum version right now, should be up soon.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

great visuals, nice subtle music, overall good job! :)

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Mesmerizing. I ended up falling into a room with no exit (or none I could found, no matter how many torches I threw), but the experience was great.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Atmospheric!!!

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:49am

love the atmosphere, well done!

Helopol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:14am

Sounds and colors are very cool ! There's a beautiful atmosphere :)

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Mood, off the charts! I don't know why but this just seems like something I could sink days into. Great work!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Fantastic, mystierious environment, that fits extremely well with the soundscape. Controls were too slippery (I'm not rating no cheating post-compo version, nono) and I ran into dead ends way too much. All my games ended with me falling down a hole with dead ends in all directions, which sucked.

But, yeah, so beautifuuuuuul.

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Really nice. I often hit an exit. I wonder what a better way of providing end points would be? Maybe a sight or event that left you satisfied and happy to turn around?

7heSAMA says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:14am

Playing the post compo version - well obviously you know what I'm gonna say, looks/sounds beautiful. Don't even really mind that there wasn't a goal, but I wish it was easier to navigate. Very difficult to move straight up/down and I didn't even realize you could fly for a long time.

Spotline says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:39am

Thanks everyone for the feedbacks !

@rpgwhitelock : I have the "ending" in mine, I just didn't have time to add it :(

@7heSAMA : Flying is a bug... I'll definitely update the post-compo version with a cleaner character controller, the current one is a disaster :)

Split82 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Nice experience. Love the audio of spawning torch. Got some technical problems though. Mouse didn't stay in window and sometimes some walls just disappeared.

May 2, 2014 @ 1:22am

Love that crunchy walk sound! Great work all around.

This might help you with your cursor problems:

https://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/ScriptReference/Screen-lockCursor.html

Simon says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:26am

Very pleasant and peaceful experience. It reminded me of Metroid Prime a bit. Great job for this and thank you!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Impressive stuff. The ambient sound was particularly good. The mouse pointer staying active was a bit awkward, but other than that, really cool.

May 3, 2014 @ 5:13am

Really sweet graphics, wasnt sure what I was looking for... I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/vjBlRj2wHy8

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Ridiculously excellent sound design. Constantly finding dead ends kinda slowed down the "flow", but overall loved it.

jujule says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Wow, wow. Beautiful! Amazing artisitic achievment. I liked the torch mechanic.

Tifu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Cool atmosphere, lighting looks great. Wasn't able to get very far down, as I kept ending up in dead ends with no way back out :(

recursor says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:35am

Oh man the way you fused the lighting and the music is just too cool. This has a lot of atmosphere to it and is quite pretty. I could walk around just throwing torches around for a long time.

pkenney says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:16am

Fantastic sound design - wandered around for a while exploring and throwing torches, you really set a mood.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Despite occasional glitchiness, this was a great atmospheric game!

edibletoaster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Fantastic! Audio is wonderful and visuals are gorgeous. Gonna mess with the post como version now. Love this. Please keep working on this.

RetroEpic says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:30am

Controls felt really floaty, and the mouse didn't lock to the screen. otherwise I'm not sure what I was supposed to do, the win condition wasn't obvious.

csanyk says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Didn't really like it until I threw my first torch, then wow! Good effects there. Very pretty. I thought the controls felt off. Too fast/too much inertia, yet mouse looking was too slow, and the camera angle feels like it's at about knee level. Overall, I like it but really only for the mystery and the effect of the torches. If you built this up and added depth and a goal, it would be good:)

May 18, 2014 @ 2:05pm

fantastic sound! using those torches to light up the caves and simultaneously getting the sound and color effect created a really vibrant atmosphere! to bad they run out so quickly though! and the random generated nature of the game was a little so-so, my first try didn't include any more holes in the ground so i was stuck on the same level i fell down to.

oh, and great intro!

QubedStudios says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Love the art style, audio a lighting effects! I'm always amazed seeing such complex worlds being built in so little time!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]